Library Policies

The Boreham Library provides an inclusive environment in which experienced professionals offer individualized opportunities to explore, learn, create and connect. As an essential partner with the campus and the community, Boreham Library supports the mission and goals of the University of Arkansas – Fort Smith. In fulfilling our role of preparing students to become lifelong learners in a global workforce, we maintain the highest standards of service.

• People – including students, faculty and staff as well as the UAFS user community
• Resources
• Excellent service
• Collaboration

Boreham Library will be recognized for excellence in library services to the UAFS user community.

In working with the Mission, Values, and Vision of Boreham Library we commit ourselves to three areas of excellent.

Design and enrich use of library space and visual identity

• Propose changes to the building, including the Pebley Center:
  • Repurpose the first floor space for specialized collections - ongoing with weeding of Reference Collection; heavily used fiction, DVDs, games, moved to the first rows of shelves on first floor;
  • Develop a cohesive and comprehensive policy for signage, both print and digital;
  • Analyze data on building usage and hours of operation - ongoing – analysis concludes that extended hours of operation are not needed during the semester, due to closure during COVID, reduction of student assistant budget monies, student assistant shortage, exceptions – hours were expanded minimally for finals in December 2020;
  • Explore additional methods to capture patron counts.
• Advocate for a coffee “cart” concept in the lobby of the library:
  • Work with Chartwell’s, the Chancellor’s Office, and Plant Operations for the planning, development, and launch of this coffee location.

Goal 2:  Collections

Develop and enhance the library’s collections to support existing programs and plan for future programs

• Continue updating collection development policies:
  • Librarians will finish the weeding of the Reference Collection by June 30, 2021 - completed summer of 2021;
  • Investigate JSTOR’s Demand Driven/Patron Driven Acquisition model for the purchase of ebooks – ongoing – met with representatives to discuss EBA program, discussed best options for the library, portion of book allocation money to be determined to start the program;
  • Continue collections analysis and maintenance to align with the teaching and research needs of the UAFS community.
• Expand and promote the unique and valuable collections available in the Pebley Center:
  • Implement tools that improve reference services and management of archival materials.
• Establish new revenue streams:
  • Establish partnerships with colleges, departments, and other campus units to fund library resources – ongoing – receive donated textbooks, equipment such as calculators, drone checkout program, received money from STEM for the purchase of SciFinder-n (2017-present);
  • Leverage regional and national partnerships to enable resource sharing between libraries to the benefit of all researchers – ongoing – participate in organizations and universities including but not limited to Amigos Library Services, Greater Western Library Alliance (GWLA), ARKlink, OCLC, and the University of Arkansas Fayetteville.
• Strengthen support for sustainable models of scholarship:
  • Promote and support adoption and use of Open Educational Resources in teaching and research – ongoing – all librarians attended the Open Education Resources Southern Symposium in July 2021; director was on the Textbook Committee to recommend cost savings for students; promote, purchase, and advertise the Textbook Project for the use in general education courses.
• Create and sustain a library climate that acknowledges and celebrates diversity:
  • Develop sustainable funding models for supporting collections that reflect and support the university’s diversity of research and instruction.
• Investigate the conversion of the collection from Dewey to LC.

Goal 3:  Instruction

Develop a robust liaison program that includes training, instruction, and awareness of library resources as well as to foster a dialogue with faculty:

• Examine current instructional activities with particular emphasis on online instruction ongoing – hit the ground running with the lockdown starting on March 19, 2020.  All instruction and reference as well as services converted to online.  Online forms for paging stacks for materials and delivery to faculty and staff, curbside delivery, requests for instruction, book purchases, and appointments, requests for course specific tutorials, scanning and posting of materials for electronic reserves, as well as embedded librarians in courses.  These services continue to be promoted;
• Develop a philosophy of instruction and basic curriculum that each instruction session includes, either for FYE classes or subject specific for upper level/Masters classes - ongoing;
• Develop best practices for both in-person and online instruction, whether synchronous or asynchronous - ongoing;
• Develop tutorials for FYE classes for freshmen as well as subject specific classes for upper divisions and Masters level - ongoing; 
• Work with curricular programs to ensure that instruction occurs where it will have the most impact;
• Ensure all instruction sessions are built around stated learning objectives - ongoing;
• Develop best practices guidelines for library learning objects such as LibGuides, LibAnswers - completed.

Invest in developing, recruiting and retaining staff to provide new skills in support of changing university needs:

• Examine organizational structure in order to strategically re-align with existing expertise and to  develop future library staffing needs – ongoing – job descriptions have been updated;

• Conduct analyses of employee job descriptions, workloads and workflows;
• Create and sustain a library climate that acknowledges and celebrates diversity in planning for future library staffing needs;
• Build a dynamic learning organization by investing in professional and staff development

that sparks initiative to enhance performance and innovation within assigned job roles or duties;

• Develop guidelines to meet the requirements of faculty status for librarians at UAFS - ongoing.

Develop strategies to better promote our collections, services, and events to the UAFS user community:

• Collaborate across the library to articulate a cohesive message that promotes our resources and user services both internally and externally;
• Develop a library marketing and outreach plan;
• Continue the library’s participation in campus-wide initiatives;
• Identify activities to use the Outreach Committee’s resources:
  • Identify a calendar of activities;
  • Create a budget for activities.
• Coordinate with colleges, departments, and other campus units in order to be constantly engaged with campus activities;
• Continue to assess activities and measure outcomes;
• Develop programs that make the library a center for intellectual discussion;
• Explore the role of service by library staff that draws upon professional expertise in serving the university.

Design and enrich the user experience in order to deliver access to library resources, services, and expertise:

• Continue redesign and fine tuning of library’s website - ongoing:
  • Develop policies, procedures and standards regarding our virtual presence.
• Participate in training and development of the university’s website when it debuts;
• Provide technology-rich tools, resources, administration, training, and expertise that are responsive to changing needs;
• Develop a budget for the purchase of new and/or emerging technologies.