Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Background exploration of a topic is very important for research. If you want to get an overview of a subject, find definitions of terms, get biographical information on a key figure in the field, or locate recommended readings lists, consult a reference source such as a subject encyclopedia or dictionary. Reference sources are available in print or online format.
Print and E-Reference Sources
The Blackwell Companion to the Sociology of Families
Call Number: Ref 306.85072 B5682cs
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by
Call Number: Ref 616.89075 D542013
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
A comprehensive overview of the field, this Encyclopedia presents the important topics, concepts, and ideas that shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice. Includes biographies of the major activist thinkers and leaders.
The Encyclopedia of Social Work
Call Number: Ref 361.303 En197sw
Handbook of Health Social Work
Call Number: Ref 362.10425 H19158hs
The Oxford Handbook of Social Work in Health and Aging by
Call Number: 362.10425 Ox26sw
The Social Work Dictionary by
Call Number: Ref 361.303 B244 sw
Publication Date: 2013-05-01
Social Workers' Desk Reference
Call Number: Ref 361.32 S01344w
Online Reference Sources
CREDO reference is an online database that can often be used as a starting point for research.
More Online Sources
CQ Researcher contains in-depth factual reports on controversial issues and topics of current interest. Browse by topic or search for keywords across multiple reports.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This database provides more than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays and 5,000+ topic overviews. Included are primary source documents, biographies, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and a link to Google Image Search. Also included are thousands of podcasts and NPR programs. A national and state curriculum standards search is available, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.
More Print and E-Reference Sources
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Family Studies, 4 Volume Set by
Publication Date: 2016-02-29
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Family Studies presents a comprehensive, interdisciplinary collection of the key concepts, trends, and processes relating to the study of families and family patterns throughout the world. Offers more than 550 entries arranged A-Z Includes contributions from hundreds of family scholars in various academic disciplines from around the world Covers issues ranging from changing birth rates, fertility, and an aging world population to human trafficking, homelessness, famine, and genocide Features entries that approach families, households, and kin networks from a macro-level and micro-level perspective Covers basic demographic concepts and long-term trends across various nations, the impact of globalization on families, global family problems, and many more Features in-depth examinations of families in numerous nations in several world regions 4 Volumes www.familystudiesencyclopedia.com