Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UAFS logo

ART: Art History: Find Books

Search

Search the Boreham Library catalog

Find books and e-books with NUMA Search. 

 

Finding Books

Searching Tips

Boolean Logic
Organize your search. Use AND, OR, or NOT to group search terms for the online catalog and databases.

Types of Searches (Keyword, title, subject, etc.)

Keyword is like Google—it finds your search term anywhere. Exact Search finds words in order. Subject, Title, Author, etc. searches are more powerful because they search only in those parts of the database.

Subject Headings Use Subject Searches (either Exact or Browse) to find database-specific terms that demonstrate what the work is ABOUT.

Truncation Use the asterisk (*) to search using root words. For “teen*” you get “teens”; “teen”; “teenager”, etc.

Reference Resources -- Background Information to Start Your Research

Background Source Books on Art

                                                                

American Painters  on Technique  751.409 M4526ap     Benezit Dictionary of Artists   (Oxford Art Online )   

                                                                                                                                        

Companion to American Art ebook click on link                  Dictionary of Contemporary American Artists  709/2273 C912d                                                                                   

Comprehensive exploration of the methodology, historiography, and current state of the field of American art history.

                                                

 Encyclopedia of World Art                                                  Lives of the Great 20th Century Artists

  Ref 703 En19                                                                    Ref 709.22 L9636lg  

 

                                               

   Modern Arts Criticism                                                      Oxford Companion to Twentieth Century Art

    Ref 709.22 M72ac                                                          Ref 709.0400321 Ox2

                                

                                                   

Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists             Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms

e-book (Click on link.)                                                      e-book (Click on link.)