LibGuides: Fort Chaffee Refugees: Getting Started

Encyclopedia of Arkansas Articles

"The mission of the Encyclopedia of Arkansas Project" (as stated on its Web site) "is to collect and disseminate information on all aspects of the state's history and culture and to provide a comprehensive reference work for historians, teachers, students and individuals for the purpose of promoting the study, understanding, and appreciation of Arkansas's heritage." The Encyclopedia is maintained and updated by staff from the Butler Center for Arkansas Studies.

Encyclopedia of Arkansas
"The mission of the Encyclopedia of Arkansas Project" (as stated on its Web site) "is to collect and disseminate information on all aspects of the state's history and culture and to provide a comprehensive reference work for historians, teachers, students and individuals for the purpose of promoting the study, understanding, and appreciation of Arkansas's heritage." The Encyclopedia is maintained and updated by staff from the Butler Center for Arkansas Studies.

Background Information

Before beginning your research, read the Executive Summary of both reports to learn more about the immigrant communities in Arkansas.

A profile of immigrants in Arkansas, 2007
This widely cited report and volumes discuss key demographic trends, economic factors, and public-policy issues associated with immigrants in Arkansas. The first volume provides a demographic overview of the state’s foreign-born population, explores the composition of the immigrant labor force, and describes trends in the state’s population of children in immigrant families. The second volume describes immigrants’ purchasing power, tax contributions, fiscal costs, and indirect economic impacts through spin-off jobs.
A profile of immigrants in Arkansas, 2013
A Profile of Immigrants in Arkansas 2013 is a three-volume report that analyzes key demographic trends and the economic impact of immigrants and the Marshallese population in Arkansas.
Impacting Arkansas: Vietnamese and Cuban Refugees and Latina/o Immigrants, 1975–2005
Guerrero, Perla M. “Impacting Arkansas: Vietnamese and Cuban Refugees and Latina/o Immigrants, 1975–2005.” PhD diss., University of Southern California, 2010.

Data & Statistics

Changing Patterns in U.S. Immigration and Population
This brief examines current population trends among the foreign- and native-born at the county level, and highlights the role that immigrants play in contributing to population growth and slowing population loss. This analysis does not examine the merits of population change, but instead focuses on where it is occurring geographically.

Several counties in southern Arkansas are highlighted in this report.
New Americans in Arkansas
Links to several sources relating to the growth of Asian and Latin American immigration to Arkansas.
Map the Impact of Immigration Across the Nation
Concise brief on the growing immigrant population in Arkansas. "Though the size of Arkansas’s immigrant population is small, the state is home to the fastest-growing Latino population in the US, as well as the fourth fastest-growing immigrant population overall."
The Contributions of New Americans in Arkansas
The Partnership for a New American Economy has developed a series of research briefs that examine the demographic and economic contributions of immigrant communities in counties and cities across the United States. This report focuses on Arkansas.
QuickFacts from the Census Bureau
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.