LibGuides: Fort Chaffee Refugees: Find Articles

What is a Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Article?

Peer-reviewed journal articles have gone through a special review process (peer review, naturally). This means scholars of a discipline have read an article carefully and determined that it makes a worthwhile contribution and was researched correctly. This is why instructors prefer you to use peer-reviewed articles -- it guarantees that your sources are good ones.

Journal Locator

To find an article, search the Journal Locator for the journal title. Here's an example of where in the citation you'll find the title.

If we don't have access, you can request the article through interlibrary loan.

Google Scholar

USA.gov

Numa Search

Articles, books, and other materials in one comprehensive search!

Core Databases

Academic Search Complete
Use this multi-disciplinary database to locate full text articles appearing in scholarly journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles.
Index Arkansas
Library faculty and staff from the UA Fayetteville, Mullins Libraries' Reference and Special Collections departments created the Index Arkansas database. Currently, the database has entries covering the 1880s to the present. Index Arkansas indexes articles and other information published in: county history journals, selected statewide magazines, and selected book titles.
JSTOR
Use this database to locate full-text articles from scholarly journals. Important: JSTOR is an initiative to store the full-text of important journals in a secure environment. Issues for the current 3-5 years are not available. Subjects cover all aspects of the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text
This database contains full text for "core" journals dating back to 1895, in addition to "priority" coverage journals. Also included is full text for books, monographs, and conference papers. Subject coverage includes abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, etc.

Other Useful Databases

America: History & Life with Full Text
Use this database to locate journal articles and parts of books dealing with U.S. and Canadian history, area studies and current affairs literature. Subject coverage includes history, interdisciplinary studies of historical interest, and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities.
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher contains in-depth factual reports on controversial issues and topics of current interest. Browse by topic or search for keywords across multiple reports.
Government Publishing Office
Use this database to locate all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.) Each record contains a bibliographic citation.