Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UAFS logo

Pebley Center Collections - Fred Patton: Collection Contents

Collection Description Overview

The J. Fred Patton Collection was donated to the Pebley Center by his daughter, Ann Patton Dawson.  Materials include biographical data, correspondence, newspaper articles, a manuscript for the History of Fort Smith, 1817-1892,  photographs, and certificates.  Materials in the collection show the contributions of Patton to the history and development of Fort Smith as a historian, educator, businessman, and civic leader.

HIGHLIGHTS of the COLLECTION:

       Marshals Tombstone Project at Oak Cemetery

  • List of Marshals
  • Maps showing location of graves of US Deputy Marshals
  • Chronology of Oak Cemetery project
  • Primary sources for the Marshals Tombstone Project for Oak Cemetery

      Judge Isaac C. Parker Federal Building

  • Background and sources for the renaming of the Judge Isaac C. Parker Federal Building

     Tales of the Crypt

  • Origin and scripts for early productions

      History of Fort Smith, 1817 - 1992

  • Details surrounding the publication of the History of Fort Smith, 1817-1892.

 

CATEGORIES for the COLLECTION: 
  • Biographical
  • Community Service
  • Professional Activities
  • Publications and awards 
    • Articles, books, speeches)
    • Presentations and tour scripts
    • Awards, Honors and Plaques
    • Newspaper articles
    • Photographs and miscellaneous materials

Collection Inventory and Details

J. Fred Patton Publication

                                                                                                                                                                                                  

 

                          History of Fort Smith, 1817- 1992.   

Updates to the first printing of this book were added: History of Fort Smith, 1817-2000 and History of Fort Smith, 1817-2004.