Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UAFS logo

Music History 3513: Background Resources

Background Information

Background sources such as subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks provide an overview of a topic, definitions of terms, biographical information, and suggestions for further reading.  For this course, the print Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is a good place to begin research. Oxford Music Online (database) often provides articles on music of individual countries.

CREDO

More Background Sources

These are examples of print sources for music research in the Reference Collection, 1st floor.

               

New Grove Dictionary print  Ref 780.3 N42026dmm    now online as OXFORD MUSIC    

        

Baker's Biographical Dict. Ref 780.922 B177b            

         

New Oxford Hist. of Music  Ref 780 N42 10 vols.

  

        

Oxford Companion to Musical Instruments

Ref 784.190 B580

        

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is a major PRINT resource for Music History 3513.  This work contains overviews of music by geographic areas and comprehensive bibliographies.  This work is accompanied by cds that illustrate music selections for each region.    

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music      Reference Collection, 1st. floor  780.8 G169en     These are print titles. 

            Vol. 1                                Vol. 2                       Vol. 3                                Vol. 4                               Vol. 5   

                      

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            

                         

       Vol. 6                           Vol. 7                              Vol. 8                               Vol. 9                                    Vol.10 

  • Vol. 1 Africa 
  • Vol. 2  South America, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean 
  • Vol. 3  United States and Canada
  • Vol. 4  Southeast Asia 
  • Vol. 5 South Asia- Indian Subcontinent  
  • Vol. 6  Middle East  
  • Vol. 7  East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea
  • Vol. 8  Europe
  • Vol. 9  Australia and the Pacific Islands
  • Vol. 10  The World's Music: General Perspectives and Reference Tools 

 

Other Major Reference Sources

Other Major Reference Sources

  • Encyclopedia of Popular Music   Ref 780.3 St23
  • Historical Anthology of Music (HAM)   Ref 780.9 D299
  • History of Western Music  (Grout) 780.9 G9189hwm
  • Source Readings in Music History from Classical Antiquity through the Romantic Era 780.9 St89s                                                             

Electronic Books

The library catalog lists many electronic books for music.  This is one example:  Harvard Dictionary of Music.

Foreign Language Dictionaries      

Foreign language dictionaries are shelved in the 400s in the Reference Collection, 1st floor.   Locate call numbers for dictionaries for specific languages in the Library Catalog.                                                                                             

 

Music Guides