Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Article?
You have a research assignment and your professor has asked you to find a "peer-reviewed" or "scholarly" article... but you don't know what that is. Check-out the resources below to learn more about peer-reviewed, scholarly articles, why they are important, and how to determine if an article is considered to be "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed."
How to Find Journal Articles
To find individual journal articles, you will primarily use electronic databases to do your searching. With such databases, you can find article abstracts and even full-text articles by conducting an author, title, keyword(s), or subject searching.
If there is no full-text article available online, you will need to check if the library has the actual journal (physical item) so that you can locate it and read the article. You can find the holding and location information of the journal by typing its title in the search box on the UAFS online catalog. If the library does not have subscription to the journal, you can request for a copy of the article through our interlibrary loan service.
Want to know if the Library has electronic access to your favorite journal title? Look for it using the TITLE or ISSN search or browse for e-journals by subject.
Indexes & Databases
Searching for journal articles or other information? Try looking in one of the Library's many indexes and databases.
Articles, books, and other materials in one comprehensive search!
Use this database to locate full-text articles from scholarly journals. Important: JSTOR is an initiative to store the full-text of important journals in a secure environment. Issues for the current 3-5 years are not available. Subjects cover all aspects of the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Use this database to locate journal articles and parts of books dealing with U.S. and Canadian history, area studies and current affairs literature. Subject coverage includes history, interdisciplinary studies of historical interest, and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities.
A cross-disciplinary research tool with 30 databases that can be searched together or individually.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a database containing citations to articles and other sources in all areas of knowledge. (The database doesn't include full text, but links to full text if we have access.) Try Firefox first for this database -- it's not working correctly in Chrome right now. This link to the beta version loads faster in Chrome.
Other Useful Databases
Academic Search Complete
Use this multi-disciplinary database to locate full text articles appearing in scholarly journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Use this database to locate quantitative indicators of American history. Contents include statistics on population, work and welfare, economics, governance and international relations.