Finding Articles - HUMN 2563 - Humanities Through the Arts - LibGuides at University of Arkansas

Core Databases

Academic Search Complete
Use this multi-disciplinary database to locate full text articles appearing in scholarly journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR
Use this database to locate full-text articles from scholarly journals. Important: JSTOR is an initiative to store the full-text of important journals in a secure environment. Issues for the current 3-5 years are not available. Subjects cover all aspects of the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
ProQuest Central
A cross-disciplinary research tool with 30 databases that can be searched together or individually.

What is a Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Article?

Peer-reviewed journal articles have gone through a special review process (peer review, naturally). This means scholars of a discipline have read an article carefully and determined that it makes a worthwhile contribution and was researched correctly. This is why instructors prefer you to use peer-reviewed articles -- it guarantees that your sources are good ones.

Journal Locator

To find an article, search the Journal Locator for the journal title. Here's an example of where in the citation you'll find the title.

If we don't have access, you can request the article through interlibrary loan.

Google Scholar

Music Databases

Music Index
Music Index database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for every aspect of classical and popular music. Use this database to locate information on all styles and genres of music as well as information about musicians and the music industry. International music periodicals from over 40 countries are indexed. The Music Index also cites book reviews, obituaries.
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online offering over 2,248,000 tracks (as of August 6, 2019) of Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music as well as educational products. It includes the complete BIS, Chandos, Hänssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naxos, Ondine and selected titles of other leading independent labels, with over 1,000 albums added monthly. The music is available in high quality 128K, 64K, or 20K streaming sound, on-demand, with accompanying background and composer notes written by experts in the field.
Oxford Music Online
This database offers a gateway to search the following online publications: Encyclopedia of Popular Music, New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, New Grove Dictionary of Opera, New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, Oxford Companion to Music, and Oxford Dictionary of Music.

Painting, Sculpture, & Architecture Databases

ARTstor
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is the access point for the Grove Dictionary of Art and other reference resources dealing with art. PLEASE NOTE: Our subscription is limited to three users. When you're finished, please log out using the "Logout" button in the upper right corner!

Literature Databases

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Use this database to locate citations for items from journals and series published worldwide. It indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceeding, dissertations, and bibliographies. It is produced by the Modern Language Association of America. Subject coverage includes folklore, languages, linguistics, and literature.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection
Use this database to locate the full-text of journals in the Standard Package of Project Muse. Subjects include humanities, arts, and social sciences.

HUMN 2563 - Humanities Through the Arts: Finding Articles