Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The primary reasons for citing sources in a research paper are to give credit to the authors whose work you have drawn upon and to allow readers to track down your sources, should they wish to do so.
There are many style guides for formatting citations and creating bibliographies. Turabian (a simplified version of Chicago) is frequently used, but you may be called upon to use others.
See the box at the right for tools to help you format citations and bibliographies.
Zotero is a free tool designed to help you gather, manage and share information about books, articles, web pages and other digital objects that you are using in your research, and to generate citations and bibliographies. Zotero is a Mozilla browser plugin. You can choose to gather your data on your hard drive (if you are working mainly from one computer), or on a flash drive or a network (if you frequently access your data at multiple workstations).
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. You can automatically generate bibliographies, collaborate with other researchers online, import papers from other research software, find relevant papers based on what you’re reading, and access your papers from anywhere online.
DocsCite is a step-by-step guide to putting government publication citations into proper style format (APA or MLA) using a template; from Arizona State University.
Many of these resources were suggested by the Columbia University Libraries
Citing Records in the National Archives of the United States
In response to frequent requests from researchers, the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) offers the following guidelines for citing unpublished records it holds. The guidelines cover citations to textual records, microform records, nontextual archives (i.e., photographic records, posters, motion pictures, tape recordings, cartographic records, and architectural drawings), electronic records, and online references.
DocsCite Citation Generator (APA/MLA)
DocsCite is a step-by-step guide to putting government publication citations into proper style format from the Arizona State University Libraries. Use the drop-down menus to select the appropriate template using either APA or MLA citation styles.
Brief Citing Guide (Chicago/Turabian Style)
This guide from the University of Memphis Libraries provides examples of the most common examples of government document citations. These examples are based on the Chicago/Turabian standard bibliographic style and not reference-list form. You may need to modify the citation to conform to the manual/form you are required to use.
Citing Government Information Sources Using MLA Style
This style sheet from the University of Nevado Reno Library details how to cite government information using the Modern Language Association.