Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Presidents: Life Portraits
The Peabody Award winning series profiles the men who have served as chief executive of the United States. This website, created as a companion to C-SPAN’s 20th Anniversary television series, provides an in-depth look at each of the presidents, their lives, families and administrations.
Audio / Video Archive from the American Presidency Project
Listen or watch the audio and video recordings of presidents beginning with Herbert Hoover - George W. Bush.
C-SPAN is a private, non-profit company, created in 1979 by the cable television industry as a public service. Its mission is to provide public access to the political process. The website has an exhaustive library of video and audio clips covering "Capital Hill, the White House, and National Politics."
C-SPAN Video Archive
The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 170,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives.
GAO YouTube Channel
GAO is known as "the investigative arm of Congress" and "the congressional watchdog." GAO supports the Congress in meeting its constitutional responsibilities and helps improve the performance and accountability of the federal government for the benefit of the American people.
The White House on YouTube
The White House's YouTube channel has almost 2,000 videos covering press conferences, speeches, and activities by the President and Executive Branch.
U.S. Presidential Audio Recordings
The Voices of American Presidents have been captured by audio pioneers since the early days of sound recording. The invention of Edison's phonograph ushered in a new era of "recorded" history, beginning with President Benjamin Harrison in the late 19th century to the present administration. The MSU Vincent Voice Library is working to preserve over 100 years of historical spoken word recordings like those of the U.S. Presidents, and is pleased to share these sound samples from its collection.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Includes evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004). There are over a million records and of those, there are 405,259 items available to stream via NBC and CNN, consisting of 9,328 hours of evening news and 7,652 hours of special broadcasts.