Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
View an organizational directory of the U.S. government departments and agencies.
United States Government Manual
As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees.
Federal Agency Directory
The directory lists current/active/existing U. S. Federal Government agencies as represented in the United States Government Manual. Indentations will inform the reader of the institution's place in the hierarchy. No annotation will be provided. The index is searchable by agency keyword (e.g., Veteran's Bureau) NOT subject. See, FAQs for links to search engines and other resources.
Browse Federal Agency Internet Sites by Topic
RSS Feeds from the U.S. Government
This page breaks down RSS feeds from federal websites into broad topic categories.
Descriptions are taken from the mission statements or "about us" section found on each website.
U.S. Government Agencies
The U.S. Department of Energy's Clean Cities program advances the nation's economic, environmental, and energy security by supporting local actions to reduce petroleum use in transportation. Clean Cities is part of DOE's Vehicle Technologies Office. Clean Cities has saved more than 5 billion gallons of petroleum since its inception in 1993.
Environmental Protection Agency
EPA is an agency of the U.S. federal government which was created for the purpose of protecting human health and the environment by writing and enforcing regulations based on laws passed by Congress.
International Trade Association
The International Trade Administration (ITA) strengthens the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promotes trade and investment, and ensures fair trade through the rigorous enforcement of our trade laws and agreements. ITA works to improve the global business environment and helps U.S. organizations compete at home and abroad. ITA supports President Obama’s recovery agenda and the National Export Initiative to sustain economic growth and support American jobs.
U.S. Government Accountability Office
The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars.
U.S. Government Publications
Census of Governments
The Census of Governments survey identifies the scope of American government at the federal, state, and municipal level by measuring public finance, public employment, classifies municipal government structures and activities, and identifies municipal authorities and Special-purpose districts. The most recent census is from 2012.
Congressional Research Service Reports
The Congressional Research Service conducts research on public policy for Congress. These reports are highly regarded for the depth and accuracy of their research.
FDsys is a project of the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) to provide electronic, digital access to government information. The collection includes the Budget of the U.S. Government; the Compilation of Presidential Documents; Congressional bills, calendars, committee prints, documents, hearings, and reports; the Congressional Record; Economic Indicators; the Federal Register; the List of CFR Sections Affected; and Public and Private Laws. Coverage begins in 1993.
MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
THOMAS is the database of United States Congress legislative information. It is operated by the Library of Congress and was launched in January 1995 at the inception of the 104th Congress. It is a comprehensive, Internet-accessible source of information on the activities of Congress, including: Bills & resolutions; texts of bills and resolutions; Summaries and status; Voting results, including how individual members voted; Congressional Record, including the daily digest; Presidential nominations; and Treaties.