Skip to main content

Please visit for the Library's COVID-19 Plan: https://library.uafs.edu/corona

Music: Find Books

Find books, research databases, journal articles, and more in the area of music.

Locating Books in Our Library

Search the Catalog

 
 
 

Hints for Locating Scores and Recordings in the Catalog

Try a Keyword search using scores to combine the composer name or other term and the word "scores". Notice the word is plural. For example:

handel and scores

cantatas and scores

opera and scores

 

Use the Limit option to narrow the search results to a material type. For example, a subject search on Music results in over 1,000 hits. Use the Limit/Sort option to narrow the search by Material Type "CD" and the results is reduced to 294 items. Most CD items must be checked out from the Circulation Desk. You will need the call number.

-Thank you to Carolyn Filippelli-

Dewey Decimal Classification -- Music

Dewey Decimal Classification

780 Music
780.9 History of Music
780.92 Composer Biographies
781 General principles & musical forms
781.3 Composition
782 Vocal music
783 Music for single voices; the voice
784 Instruments & instrumental ensembles
785 Ensembles with one instrument per part
786 Keyboard & other instruments
787 Stringed instruments
788 Wind instruments

Selected Books in Reference

REF 780.3 N42026 dmm v.1-29
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians

REF 780.820973 W8422ma
Women and Music in America Since 1900

REF 780.9 G169em v.1-10
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

REF  780.922 B177b 1992
Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians

REF 780.922 So44b 1997
Baker's biographical dictionary of twentieth-century classical musicians

REF 780.92396 In849bc 1999
International dictionary of black composers

REF 781.643 En197b
Encyclopedia of the Blues

REF 781.773 N42 1986 v.1-4
New Grove Dictionary of American Music

-Thank you to Carolyn Filippelli-

Selected Books in the Collection

780.3 credo 2012 (ebook)
Musical Terms, Symbols, & Theory: An Illustrated Dictionary
Author: Michael C. Thomsett
North Carolina: McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers

780.9 G9189hwm 2006
History of Western Music, 7th edition
Author: Donald J. Grout
New York: Norton Publisher

780.922 ebscohost 2009 (ebook)
Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century
Author: Alfred William Cramer
Pasadena, CA: Salem Press

780.71 J7684a 2008
The Art of Teaching Music
Author: Estelle R. Jorgensen
Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press

780.71 N823 2019
Norton guide to teaching music history
Editor: C. Matthew Balensuela
New York : W. W. Norton & Company

780.71 R2738pme 2003
A Philosophy of Music Education: Advancing the Vision
Author: Bennett Reimer
Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall

780.71 P9159me 2003
Prelude to Music Education
Author: Joanne H. Irwin
Upper Saddle River, NJ : Prentice Hall

780.71 proquest 2011 (ebook)
MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning
Editors: Richard Colwell and Peter Webster
Oxford University Press

781.09 Ebook 2002
Cambridge History of Western Music Theory
Editor: Thomas Christensen
Cambridge University Press

784.03 Sm629pnb 2002
Program Notes about Band
Author: Norman E. Smith
Chicago : GIA Publications