LibGuides: The Research Process: Library Databases

Library Databases

Through the Boreham Library you have access to more than 90 databases. These databases are collections of information, including scholarly publications, newspapers, audio and video resources, datasets, book reviews, and more. The Library makes the databases available to help you with your research. A complete list of the databases available to you at University of Arkansas - Fort Smith is listed on the Library A-Z Database webpage.

Interdisciplinary Databases

The following are a selection of popular interdisciplinary databases. Consult the A-Z Database webpage to see all databases you have access to at UAFS.

Academic Search Complete
Use this multi-disciplinary database to locate full text articles appearing in scholarly journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR
Use this database to locate full-text articles from scholarly journals. Important: JSTOR is an initiative to store the full-text of important journals in a secure environment. Issues for the current 3-5 years are not available. Subjects cover all aspects of the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Subject Databases

The following are a selection of popular subject specific databases. Consult the A-Z Database webpage to see all databases you have access to at UAFS.

Applied & Natural Sciences encompasses a number of subjects, including biology, chemistry, computer science, engineering, geology, mathematics, physics, medicine.

MathSciNet
Use this database to locate comprehensive coverage of the world's mathematical literature since 1940. MathSciNet provides access to the bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database.
SciFinder Scholar (NEW USER - Click Here)
SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows the exploration of the Chemical Abstract Services databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.
You must register using your UA Fort Smith Lionslink email account.
You must register from a computer on the UA Fort Smith campus.
UA Fort Smith shares a pool of logins with two other universities, so please log off immediately when finished searching to free up access for other patrons.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a database containing citations to articles and other sources in all areas of knowledge. (The database doesn't include full text, but links to full text if we have access.)

Business & Industry encompasses a number of subjects, including accounting, finance, management, marketing, welding, and automotive technology.

ABI/INFORM Complete
Major source for academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers. Also contains country profiles and economic forecasts for most major economies.
Business Market Research Collection
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - information about more than 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance from a network of 1,000 faculty members at Oxford, other leading universities, and think-tanks; Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
Statista
Statista contains statistics, market research, and other quantitative information useful for business and demographic research.

Humanities encompasses a number of subjects, including art, history, languages, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and theatre.

Arts & Humanities Database
Provides access to full-text articles on applied arts, cultural studies, and other related topics.
ARTstor
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Music Index
Music Index database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for every aspect of classical and popular music. Use this database to locate information on all styles and genres of music as well as information about musicians and the music industry. International music periodicals from over 40 countries are indexed. The Music Index also cites book reviews, obituaries.

Social Sciences encompasses a number of subjects, including anthropology, education, geography, law, political science, psychology, and sociology.

Education Research Complete
Designed for educators, administrators, and those seeking professional development resources, this bibliographic and full-text database covers scholarly research relating to all areas of education.
ERIC via Ebsco
Use this database to locate both published and unpublished sources of information on all aspects of education. Abstracts from hundreds of educational and education-related journals are provided.
SocINDEX with Full Text
This database contains full text for "core" journals dating back to 1895, in addition to "priority" coverage journals. Also included is full text for books, monographs, and conference papers. Subject coverage includes abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, etc.