LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Reference Sources

Background Information

Basic Handbook of Police Supervision
Reliable and practical guidance on day-to-day challenges and outright calamities that make up the first-line leader's work.
Black's Law Dictionary
Call Number: Ref 340.03 B5624b
An extensive appendix of legal abbreviations.
Criminal Justice System
Call Number: Ref 345.7305 C8683js
Offers clear, comprehensive and authoritative treatment of all aspects of the criminal justice system.
Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics
Includes entries by experts that explore the scope of ethical decision making and behaviors within the criminal justice systems.
Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement
A comprehensive, critical and descriptive examination of all facets of law enforcement on the state and local, federal and national, and international stages.
Encyclopedia of Police Science
Call Number: Ref 363.202 En196ps 2nd floor
Entries examine the theoretical and practical aspects of law enforcement, discussing past and present practices.
Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America
A focus primarily on urban lifestyle and its associated crimes, ranging from burglary to drug peddling to murder to new, more sophisticated forms of street crime.
The Social History of Crime and Punishment in America
History and philosophy of crime, punishment, and criminal justice institutions in America from colonial times to the present.

Credo Reference
Use this database to search the online version of hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects, including general and specialized dictionaries, handbooks and encyclopedias. Credo Reference helps you find authoritative answers fast.

Encyclopedia of Community Policing and Problem Solving
Community policing expands the traditional police mandate and broadens the focus of fighting crime to include solving community problems.
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory
Invaluable reference for students studying criminology or criminal psychology.
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Offers wide-ranging and comprehensive coverage of substantive areas within criminology and criminal justice.
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
Call Number: Ref 364.3603 En194jj 2nd floor
Covers historical and contemporary theories, concepts and real-world practices of juvenile justice.
Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities
Call Number: Ref 365.97305 En196pcf 2nd floor
A critical overview of penal institutions within a historical and contemporary framework.
Research Methodologies in Criminology
Introduction to available methodologies and detailed approaches in criminological research.
The Use and Abuse of Police Power in America
Investigation of how U.S. law enforcement carries out its public safety and crime fighting mandates.