Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
More Tools for your Research
If you have a citation, find a journal article online here.
If you need to request an article through interlibrary loan, this is where you'll go to download it.
Peer-reviewed journal articles have gone through a special review process (peer review, naturally). This means scholars of a discipline have read an article carefully and determined that it makes a worthwhile contribution and was researched correctly. This is why instructors prefer you to use peer-reviewed articles -- it guarantees that your sources are good ones.
Evaluating articles -- the CRAAP test
What is the CRAAP Test? It’s a way to quickly evaluate an article or other source and decide whether it’s something you should use for your research.
- Is the article recent? Is it possible that there’s been newer research since the article was first written?
- Does the article deal with a subject where information changes quickly (e.g. technology or biology)? In this case, try to use more recent articles.
- Hint: database articles will tell you when they were written. You can usually limit your search to a particular range of dates (e.g. last five years).
- Does the article address your research needs? Does it relate to the topic you’re looking at?
- Hint: you might find an article that doesn’t exactly address your topic but is related. When this happens, looking at footnotes/endnotes to find other sources might be useful.
- Who is the author, and what makes them qualified to talk about this subject?
- Hint: many databases will include authors’ affiliation (for example, they’ll say the authors are from such-and-such university).
- How much can you depend on this article?
- Hint: if you found it in a database search for scholarly or peer-reviewed articles, it’s more likely to be reliable and unbiased.
- Is the article meant to enlighten or share new knowledge? Or is it meant to push a particular opinion, or even sell something?
- Hint: pay attention to the language. If an article presents information in a biased way, think carefully about whether you want to cite it.
ACM Digital Library
Use this database to find bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) periodicals and proceedings, together with selected works published by affiliated organizations.
We have other databases that'll be particularly helpful in finding articles on topics in computer sciences:
Web of Science
Web of Science is a database containing citations to articles and other sources in all areas of knowledge. (The database doesn't include full text, but links to full text if we have access.) Try Firefox first for this database -- it's not working correctly in Chrome right now. This link to the beta version loads faster in Chrome.
Full-text research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet.
The most efficient way to search ACM Digital Library is to search for your keyword and then narrow down the scope of your results from the initial range of results. For example, if I were looking for articles that mention both human-computer interaction and interfaces, that's exactly the search string I'd use:
Once you have your initial list of results, you can narrow the scope using the tools in the left-hand sidebar. The most useful of these may be the ability to limit your results only to those from certain years:
Once we've found a citation we're interested in reading, we can click into the description of the article to see a summary and to read the article itself:
Note the section for "References." These are very useful for finding articles on similar topics, if this one is especially useful to you. The database will link directly out to references if they're included in ACM:
General and Multidisciplinary Databases
When your instructor asks you to use peer-reviewed articles, a database is where you'll find them. There are databases for any subject you can think of, and they'll usually let you limit your search (for example only to peer-reviewed articles, or to articles from the past five years).
Academic Search Complete
Use this multi-disciplinary database to locate full text articles appearing in scholarly journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles.
A cross-disciplinary research tool with 30 databases that can be searched together or individually.