Background - SOWK 3043: Social Work - Human Behavior in the Social Environment - LibGuides at University of Arkansas

Background Sources

Background sources provide overviews of a topic, definitions of terms, biographical sketches of key persons, important theories, statistics, and recommendations for further reading. Background information from special encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks can be very useful in providing a focus and guidance for research.

Print Books

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5
Call Number: 616.89075 D54
Major resource for diagnosis and classification of mental disorders.
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior
Call Number: 150.3 En19h
A comprehensive reference source on human action and reaction, and the thoughts, feelings, and physiological functions behind those actions.
The Encyclopedia of Social Work
Call Number: 361.303 En197sw
The social work profession's collective expertise.
Social Workers' Desk Reference
Call Number: 361.32 So1344w
A comprehensive guide to social work.

Credo

Credo Reference
Use this database to search the online version of hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects, including general and specialized dictionaries, handbooks and encyclopedias. Credo Reference helps you find authoritative answers fast.

More Online Sources

Google Scholar

CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher contains in-depth factual reports on controversial issues and topics of current interest. Browse by topic or search for keywords across multiple reports.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This database provides more than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays and 5,000+ topic overviews. Included are primary source documents, biographies, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and a link to Google Image Search. Also included are thousands of podcasts and NPR programs. A national and state curriculum standards search is available, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.

Merck Manual (medical Information)

E-Books

EBOOK: Dictionary of Social Work: the Definitive a to Z of Social Work and Social Care
Quick reference work with issues, concepts, and implications for practice and policy plus terminology.
The Social Workers' Toolbox
Tools for assessment, practice, interventions, and outcome measurement.

SOWK 3043: Social Work - Human Behavior in the Social Environment: Background

Background Sources

Print Books

Credo

More Online Sources

E-Books