Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Atlases @ Boreham
Atlas of Exploration by The history of exploration is the history of human fascination with the world. Almost from the beginning of humanity, people have felt impelled to venture into unknown regions, displaying incredible endurance and bravery in the face of harsh environments and hostile inhabitants. From thedaring Polynesian navigators who, more than 3000 years ago, first began to advance across the vast Pacific Ocean in dug-out canoes with only the stars to guide them, to the Victorian missionaries and adventurers who opened the way for European colonial expansion, to the scientists of our own time,with their sophisticated navigational and observational technology, explorers have tested their imaginations against an uncharted world. The Oxford Atlas of Exploration is a splendid and authoritative history of this endeavor. With a highly readable and informative text, supported by nearly 100 specially drawn maps and 300 vivid photographs and illustrations, it traces the journeys of the discoverers of our world, recording theirachievements and their varied motives: desire for land, wealth, and fame; missionary zeal; political and cultural empire-building; scientific inquiry; and sheer, irresistible, curiosity. The book begins with the earliest recorded journeys of exploration in Europe, Asia, and Africa, and ranges from the time of the Phoenicians' voyages in the North Atlantic and Egyptians' travels in the Arabian Sea. We follow Cortes in Mexico, La Salle on the Mississippi, Darwin in the GalapagosIslands, James Cook in the Antarctic, and many others. In each section, the main routes of explorers are depicted on graphic relief maps, while photographs, paintings and engravings brilliantly portray the great variety of terrain through which these courageous men and women passed. Also includedare maps from different historical periods which reveal cartographers' growing knowledge of the shape of the world's continents and oceans. The final section of the atlas contains fascinating biographical details of many of the great explorers, geographers, and cartographers whose achievements havesupplied our sense of the shape and texture of the earth. It is followed by a time chart which summarizes the history of exploration over 5000 years. From the High Andes to the ocean depths, from the Sahara desert to the polar ice caps, The Oxford Atlas of Exploration allows us to rediscover all the extraordinary ways humans have come to know their world. Opening its pages is taking the first step on a grand adventure.
Call Number: 911 At651e 1996
Publication Date: 1997-10-02
Atlas of the World by The only world atlas updated annually, guaranteeing that users will find the most current geographic information, Oxford's Atlas of the World is the most authoritative atlas on the market. Full of crisp, clear cartography of urban areas and virtually uninhabited landscapes around the globe,the Atlas is filled with maps of cities and regions at carefully selected scales that give a striking view of the Earth's surface. It opens with a fascinating look at world statistics, a six-page special on "The Future of the Oceans and Seas," and satellite images of earth, including eleven stunningimages sourced from NASA's latest Earth Observation Satellite, Landsat 8, launched in 2013. The extraordinarily extensive front matter continues with a "Gazetteer of Nations" that has been comprehensively checked and updated to include recent economic and political changes, and a 48-page"Introduction to World Geography," beautifully illustrated with tables and graphs on numerous topics of geographic significance, such as the geology and atmosphere of Earth, food and water supply, biodiversity, energy, global conflict, human health, and standards of living. The hundreds of city andworld maps that form the body of the Atlas have been thoroughly updated for this 22nd edition.Providing the finest global coverage available, the Atlas of the World is not only the best-selling volume of its size and price, but also the benchmark by which all other atlases are measured.
Call Number: 912 Ox22aw 2015
Publication Date: 2015-11-01
National Geographic Atlas of the World by "National Geographic Atlas of the World," "Ninth Edition "showcases the Earth in stunning detail, through a magnificent collection of world, continental, and regional maps that represent up-to-the-minute political geography. Throughout the "Ninth Edition, " state-of-the-art cartographic technologies and thousands of updates deliver accuracy and quality. Innovative new physical and thematic sections address the most compelling issues facing our world today. Preeminent scientists and experts in geographical specialty fields have consulted on all topics, to ensure that the maps, graphs, and text convey significant trends and findings relevant to modern science. Innovative design makes the wide-ranging content wonderfully accessible, resulting in an accurate, useful, and user-friendly reference to the world. Map coverage in the "Ninth Edition "is more comprehensive and up-to-date than ever before: - Newly generated regional maps reveal in great detail the geography of places in the news today, strengthening the reference aspect of the "Atlas "in its coverage of newsworthy developments, from conflict in the Middle East to global warming in North America. - Dramatic, state-of-the-art ocean floor maps show more detail, more features, and more soundings than in any other atlas. - Extraterrestrial maps chart the Northern and Southern skies, the Solar System, the Milky Way, and the Universe, with new maps of Mars and the Moon that denote physical features, spacecraft landings, and impact sites. Twenty new thematic spreads illustrate crucial aspects of the human and physical world: population, urbanization, and their environmental impact, as well as human rights, health and wellness, culture, climate, technology, and many other topics. In this section, world maps appear in the same scale and projection to make it easier for the reader to compare layers of information. Plus, new highlighted notes called "connections" point out the interrelationships between topics. The reference value of the "National Geographic Atlas of the World, Ninth Edition "is unparalleled, with the place-name index now exceeding 150,000 entries to incorporate the thousands of features covered on the new spreads. Simple, straightforward index design provides readers with ease of navigation in finding the places they want to explore. This blend of mapping expertise, comprehensive coverage, and award-winning design places the "National Geographic Atlas of the""World, Ninth Edition "in a class by itself. Free gift: The Atlas of the World, Ninth Edition also comes with two free frameable map prints This premium map is a two-piece, antique-styled map of the Western and Eastern Hemispheres, reflecting current political boundaries. The two sheets can be mounted separately or together in one frame. Dimensions for each sheet are: 11-1/2" x 14-5/8."
Call Number: 912 N21353a 2011
Publication Date: 2010-10-19
The Times Atlas of the World by The latest edition of the world's most prestigious and authoritative world atlas, containing up-to-date world maps and thematic information curated by experts in geography and cartography. The 14th edition contains over 200,000 place names. More than any other world atlas which means even small villages are included in the index and on the maps. It is a benchmark of cartographic excellence, trusted by governments, media and international organisations as well as being a go to reference source for households across the country. * A treasured possession, our world as it is today in one single volume* Independent - apolitical and neutral* Elegant and endlessly fascinating* Produced by the world's leading atlas makers for over 100 years.* Bought by over 1 million people worldwide* Elegant packaging in an attractive slipcase* FSC (Forest Stewardship Council) paper This is the perfect wedding, retirement or anniversary present for anyone looking to explore the world.
Call Number: 912 T482a 2014
Publication Date: 2014-11-01