Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Please visit for the Library's COVID-19 Plan: https://library.uafs.edu/corona

History: Non-circulating Books of Historical Note: Home

List of rare books that are available for research in the Pebley Center. These books belong to historical family collections that are not on our shelves or in Boreham Library's catalog.

Rare Book List

The War of the Rebellion: Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies all volumes.

The War of the Rebellion: Correspondence, orders, reports and returns, Union and Confederate Armies all volumes.

31 Volumes of International Military Tribunal of Nuremberg Trial of the Major War Criminals official editions and dust jackets, incomplete set 

https://www.loc.gov/rr/frd/Military_Law/Nuremberg_trials.html

13 volumes of Trials of War Criminals, 1946-1949 incomplete set

Blood, Sweat, & Tears, Winston Churchill 1941

The Gathering Storm,             “                  1948

Finest Hour,                             “                  1949

Hinge of Fate,                         “                  1950

Grand Alliance,                       “                  1950

Triumph & Tragedy,               “                  1953

Final Report to the Secretary of the Army on Nuremberg War Crime Trials, Telford Taylor, 1949

The Shining Moments: The Words and Moods of John F. Kennedy, Gerald Gardner, 1964

In Tribute to John Fitzgerald Kennedy, What the President Does All Day, Roy Hoopes, 1962

Challenge to Americans, The Advertising Council, 1963

Coronet, A Nation of Immigrants, John F. Kennedy, 1965

Rare Books

Books not cataloged in Boreham Library that are available in the Pebley Center:

  1. Doctor's All, the Descendants of Arthur F. Smith in Western Arkansas by Earl and Glenda Schrock, 1994 Barger Collection
  2. Paw Paw by Howard J. Watts (once a thriving community in the Indian Territory of Oklahoma)
  3. Ladies’ Guide in Health and Disease by J.H. Kellogg, M.D., 1885, Goff Collection
  4. Preliminary Report of the United States Geological Survey of Montana and Portions of Adjacent Territories; Being a Fifth Annual Report of Progress by F.V. Hayden, 1872, Goff Collection
  5. Harper’s School Geography, New York Harper & Brothers, 1877, Goff Collection
  6. Report of Explorations Across the Great Basin of the Territory of Utah for a Direct Wagon-Route from Camp Floyd to Genoa, in Carson Valley, in 1859 by Captain J.H. Simpson, 1876, Goff Collection
  7. Report of a Reconnaissance of the Black Hills of Dakota, Made in the Summer of 1874 by William Ludlow, 1875, Goff Collection
  8. Report of the Exploring Expedition From Santa Fé, New Mexico, to the Junction of the Grand and Green Rivers of the Great Colorado of the West, in 1859, Under the Command of Capt. J.N. Macomb, Corps of Topographical Engineers (Now Colonel of Engineers); with Geological Report by Prof. J.S. Newberry, 1876, Goff Collection
  9. First, Second, and Third Annual Reports of the United States Geological Survey of the Territories for the Years 1867, 1868, and 1869, Under the Department of the Interior, 1867, Goff Collection
  10. Field Service Regulations United States Army 1914 Corrected to April 15, 1917 (Changes Nos. 1 to 6),Goff Collection
  11. Wells' Every Man His Own Lawyer, and United States Form Book: being a complete guide in all matters of law, and business negotiations, for every state in the union, 1867, Goff Collection
  12. Ruminations on a Long Life: An Autobiographical Typescript of Virginia Gardner, Barger Collection 
  13. Silas Marner: The Weaver of Raveloe by George Eliot, 1890, Barger Collection
  14. The Dixie Frontier, a Social History by Everett Dick, 1993, Barger Collection
  15. The Sadlers of Arkansas, by Grace Charlotte Faber Bendt, 1990
  16. Lee's Brief History of the United States, by Susan Pendleton Lee, 1896
  17. Ruminations on a Long Life: An Autobiographical Typescript, by Virgina Gardner, Barger Collection

Archivist

Shelley Blanton's picture
Shelley Blanton
Contact:
Boreham Library
Rm. 137
479-788-7213
Subjects:Pebley Center