Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bird Population Data
Global Population Dynamics Database
This resource has been constructed by researchers at the NERC Centre for Population Biology, in collaboration with the National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis, Santa Barbara , and the Department of Ecology and Evolution, University of Tennessee. It is, one of the largest collections of animal and plant population data in the world, and brings together nearly five thousand time series in one database.
Knowledge Network for Biocomplexity (KNB)
The Knowledge Network for Biocomplexity (KNB) is an international repository intended to facilitate ecological and environmental research. For scientists, the KNB is an efficient way to share, discover, access and interpret complex ecological data. Due to rich contextual information provided with KNB data, scientists are able to integrate and analyze data with less effort. The data originate from a highly-distributed set of field stations, laboratories, research sites, and individual researchers.
Data & Statistics
Biodiversity Information Serving Our Nation (BISON)
BISON is an information system that allows users to access, explore, and download U.S. species occurrence data - records of an organism at a particular time in a particular place - from participating data providers.
BirdLife Data Zone
Access information, maps and reports on the status of all 10,000 of the world's bird species; Search the list of the most important sites around the world for the conservation of birds; Review case studies on the state of the birds, the threats they face and what can and is being done to conserve them; View BirdLife's information through Country Profiles for each of the world's countries and territories; and View information on the key regions for restricted-range bird species.
Census of Marine Life
The Census of Marine Life, was a 10-year international effort undertaken in to assess the diversity (how many different kinds), distribution (where they live), and abundance (how many) of marine life. This effort produced the most comprehensive inventory of known marine life ever compiled and cataloged it as a basis for future research—30 million records - with the discovery of over 6,000 new species.
Search this website to find data, publications (over 2,600 scientific articles and counting), reports, and other information.
Center for International Earth Science Information Network
The Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) is a center within the Earth Institute at Columbia University. CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.
Conservation dashboard for United States
Explore key datasets maintained by UNEP-WCMC and find conservation statistics for any country or region.
Data Finder from the Environmental Protection Agency
This resource is a exhaustive collection of data resources available for: air, climate change, health risks, pollutants and contaminants, waste, and water.
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. The purpose of data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. It is a repository for all the information the government collects. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
A real-time, online checklist program, eBird is a way that the birding community can report and access information about birds. Launched in 2002 by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology and National Audubon Society, eBird provides rich data sources for basic information on bird abundance and distribution at a variety of spatial and temporal scales.
eBird’s goal is to maximize the utility and accessibility of the vast numbers of bird observations made each year by recreational and professional bird watchers.
The Ecosystem Valuation website describes how economists value the beneficial ways that ecosystems affect people. It is designed for non-economists who need answers to questions about the benefits of ecosystem conservation, preservation, or restoration. It provides a clear, non-technical explanation of ecosystem valuation concepts, methods, and applications.
Global Change Master Directory (GCMD)
Welcome to NASA's Global Change Master Directory (GCMD). The GCMD holds more than 35,000 Earth science data set and service descriptions, which cover subject areas within the Earth and environmental sciences. he project mission is to assist researchers in the discovery of and access to data and related services relevant to global change and Earth science research.
In addition, citation information to properly credit data set contributions is offered, along with direct links to data and services. As an integral part of the project, keyword vocabularies have been developed and are constantly being refined and expanded. These vocabularies are also used in other applications within the broader scientific community. Users may perform searches through the Directory’s website using controlled keywords, free-text searches, map/date searches or any combination of these. Users may also search or refine a search by data center, location, instrument, platform, project, or temporal/
Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Here you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
North American Breeding Bird Survey
The BBS is a cooperative effort between the U.S. Geological Survey's Patuxent Wildlife Research Center and Environment Canada's Canadian Wildlife Service to monitor the status and trends of North American bird populations. Following a rigorous protocol, BBS data are collected by thousands of dedicated participants along thousands of randomly established roadside routes throughout the continent. Professional BBS coordinators and data managers work closely with researchers and statisticians to compile and deliver these population data and population trend analyses on more than 400 bird species, for use by conservation managers, scientists, and the general public.
The Ocean Biogeographic Information System (OBIS) allows users to search marine species datasets from all of the world's oceans. Users can identify biodiversity hotspots and large-scale ecological patterns, analyze dispersions of species over time and space, and plot species' locations with temperature, salinity, and depth.
Species+ provides a centralised portal for accessing key information on species of global concern.
Wildlife Conservation Database
This is a database from the Arkansas Wildlife Action Plan about species living in Arkansas.