Executive Branch - POLS 3123 - American Presidency - LibGuides at University of Arkansas

USA.gov

Data & Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract is, in its own words, "the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States."

Federal Databases

These databases are freely available to the public.

FDsys
FDsys is a project of the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) to provide electronic, digital access to government information. The collection continues to expand to include the most recently digitized documents.
more...less...
The collection includes the Budget of the U.S. Government; the Compilation of Presidential Documents; Congressional bills, calendars, committee prints, documents, hearings, and reports; the Congressional Record; Economic Indicators; the Federal Register; the List of CFR Sections Affected; and Public and Private Laws. Coverage begins with the 103rd session of Congress (1993) but is not comprehensive.
MetaLib
MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.

White House Resources

White House
This is the main website for the (current) President of the United States and the White House.
White House Briefing Room
Use this webpage to find Presidential speeches, addresses, statements, briefings, nominations, and actions.
Issues
Visit this page to find information about featured legislation in Congress or the President's position on a wide-array of topics. Click the "More Information" button for a list of topics covered.
more...less...
Civil Rights
Defense
Disabilities
Economy
Education
Energy & Environment
Ethics
Family
Fiscal Responsibility
Foreign Policy
Health Care
Homeland Security
Immigration
Poverty
Rural
Seniors & Social Security
Service
Taxes
Technology
Urban Policy
Veterans
Women
Additional Issues
Commencement Essays

Presidential Materials

Budget of the United States
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. (1996 - present)
Compilation of Presidential Documents
The Compilation of Presidential Documents includes such material as: Proclamations; Executive orders; Speeches; Press conferences; Communications to Congress and Federal agencies; Statements regarding bill signings and vetoes; Appointments, nominations; Reorganization plans; Resignations; Retirements; Acts approved by the President; Nominations submitted to the Senate; White House announcements; and Press releases. Coverage begins 1993 - present.
Economic Indicators
Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
Economic Report of the President
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. The Economic Report of the President is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government. Supplementary reports can be issued to the Congress which contain additional and/or revised recommendations.
Federal Register
Published daily by the Federal government containing new and proposed regulations (rules) of the executive agencies, e.g. IRS, EPA, FDA and etc. The President's proclamations and executive orders may also be found here. All final rules will later be published by subject (titles 1-50) in the Code of Federal Regulations. Also published electronically by HeinOnline (1936-).
Public Papers of the President of the United States
The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States contains material that was compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration. It includes volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, Clinton, and Obama. As subsequent volumes are published, they will be added online.
more...less...
Each Public Papers volume contains the papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary during the specified time period. The material is presented in chronological order, and the dates shown in the headings are the dates of the documents or events. In instances when the release date differs from the date of the document itself, that fact is shown in the textnote. To ensure accuracy, remarks have been checked against a tape recording and signed documents have been checked against the original, unless otherwise noted. Textnotes and cross references have been provided by the editors for purposes of identification or clarity. Speeches were delivered inWashington, DC, unless indicated. The times noted are local times.
Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders (April 13, 1945 through January 20,1989)
Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents (browse list for January 29, 2009 to present)
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (browse list for 1993 through January 29, 2009)
"I Do Solemnly Swear...": Presidential Inagurations

Executive Publications

Bureau of Land Management
See these popular publications from the Bureau of Land Management: BLM General Brochure; Information Resources Management Accomplishments; Public Rewards From Public Lands; BLM's Annual Reports and Public Land Statistics; Resourceful Management of Our Natural Resources; Energy Facts: Onshore Federal Lands; The Bureau of Land Management's National Landscape Conservation System; BLM Science Strategy; Mining Claims and Sites on Federal Lands; BLM Library; and Budget Information.

POLS 3123 - American Presidency: Executive Branch

USA.gov

Data & Statistics

Federal Databases

White House Resources

Presidential Materials

Executive Publications