Selected Books at Boreham Library
Concepts and Techniques in Geographic Information Systems by
For one-quarter or one-semester courses in Geographic Information Systems. Approaching the study of GIS from the broader context of information technology, this text gives complete, up-to-date coverage of the concepts and techniques pertaining to every stage of the systems development life cycle of GIS and its applications in various areas of spatial problem solving and decision making. The authors, who have over 50 years of professional experience between them, stress a rigorous, but balanced treatment of the concepts and techniques of GIS to provide real-world experience of using and implementing GIS while retaining a strong academic flavor.
Geographic Information Systems and Science by
This volume deals with the scientific context, content and implications of GIS and the impact of Internet GIS on science and society. It has over 50 illustrated mini-case studies of real GIS applications that show how GIS is being used everyday. Printed in colour with over 500 colour illustrations, the text includes links to several on-line resources including: questions for further study at the end of each chapter; lists of key GIS readings; links to important on-line web sites; cross references to the two-volume Big Book of GIS by the same authors and links to an extensive distance learning web site (ESRI Virtual Campus) with specially prepared materials.
GIS Fundamentals by
New and updated Sixth Edition of GIS Fundamentals, 6th Edition - the bestselling GIS textbook by Paul Bolstad.
Geographic Information Systems (GIS) are computer-based tools for the entry, maintenance, and analysis of spatial data. GIS are critical for effective resource management, and have been applied across a wide range of science, business, and government endeavours.
This book provides an introduction to the theory and application of GIS. It is written for use in a first-year GIS class and as a reference for the GIS practitioner. This sixth edition balances theoretical and practical material, so that students may apply knowledge of GIS in the solution of real-world problems. Improvements over the previous editions are included in each chapter. Topics treated include an introduction to GIS, spatial data models, map projections, data entry, image data, GPS, digital data, database systems in GIS, general spatial analysis, raster analysis, terrain modeling, metadata, standards, and accuracy assessments.
GIS Modeling in Raster by
This new text is written for the second GIS course taken by Geography majors. The primary focus of GIS Modeling in Raster is on the process of cartographic modeling and GIS modeling. The text goes beyond cartographic modeling to incorporate supplementary or complementary technologies and logics to show that spatio-temporal modeling is not limited to cartographic modeling, nor to Map Algebra. DeMers consistent, friendly and engaging style has been highly praised by reviewers of this title as well as users of his market leading Fundamentals of Geographic Information Systems. This title provides students with the tools for problem solving skills and problem identification required for jobs above the ranks of the basic GIS technician.
Spatial Databases by
Spatial Databases is the first unified, in-depth treatment of special techniques for dealing with spatial data, particularly in the field of geographic information systems (GIS). This book surveys various techniques, such as spatial data models, algorithms, and indexing methods, developed to address specific features of spatial data that are not adequately handled by mainstream DBMS technology. The book also reviews commercial solutions to geographic data handling: ArcInfo, ArcView, and Smallworld GISs; and two extensions to the relational model, PostgreSQL and Oracle Spatial. The authors examine these underlying GIS technologies, assess their strengths and weaknesses, and consider specific uses for which each product is best suited.
A to Z GIS by
As GIS technology has evolved and grown, so has the language of this powerful tool. Written, developed, and reviewed by more than 150 subject-matter experts, A to Z GIS An Illustrated Dictionary of Geographic Information Systems is packed with more than 1,800 terms, nearly 400 full-color illustrations, and seven encyclopedia-style appendix articles about annotation and labels, features, geometry, layers in ArcGIS, map projections and coordinate systems, remote sensing, and topology. A to Z GIS An Illustrated Dictionary of Geographic Information Systems is a must-have resource for managers, programmers, users, writers, editors, and students discovering the interdisciplinary nature of GIS.