Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary vs. Secondary Sources
Check-out these webpages to learn more about what a primary source is and it's importance before starting your research.
Library of Congress Digital Collections & Services
The Library of Congress Digital Collections & Services is an excellent source for materials including official records, 1st person narratives, archival footage, video interviews, veterans histories, photographs, and transcripts.
Library of Congress: Webcasts
Library of Congress webcasts are not limited to history, but also include the sciences, the arts, religion, technology and a wide variety of other fields.
Online Public Access searches all web pages on Archives.gov, and presents those pages in the search results along with any catalog records, biographies and histories from the Archival Research Catalog (ARC).
LIFE Photo Archives
Hosted by Google Images, the LIFE magazine photo archives allows you to search millions of photographs from the 1750s to the present.
Primary Source Collections
Also Helpful from OU
American Indian Oral History
The Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History online provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes. Related are accounts of Indian ceremonies, customs, social conditions, philosophies, and standards of living. Members of every tribe resident in Oklahoma were interviewed. The collection includes the original tapes on which the interviews were recorded, as well as microfiche copies of the typescripts. The digital representation of the typescripts are organized by tribe but may be searched by interviewee, by interviewer, by tape number, or by keyword searching of the full-text of the transcript.
Indian-Pioneer Papers oral history collection
The Indian-Pioneer Papers oral history collection spans from 1861 to 1936. It includes typescripts of interviews conducted during the 1930s by government workers with thousands of Oklahomans regarding the settlement of Oklahoma and Indian territories, as well as the condition and conduct of life there. Consisting of approximately 80,000 entries, the index to this collection may be accessed via personal name, place name, or subject.
Native American Manuscripts
Selected Native American-related manuscript collections, primarily from tribes headquartered in Oklahoma such as the Choctaw and Seminole nations.
The Western History Collections holds over 2,000 collections of primary textual materials on Oklahoma and the American West. These include diaries and journals, personal and official correspondence, literary manuscripts, business records, and scrapbooks. Among the subjects covered are Native American tribes headquartered in Oklahoma, pioneer and frontier life, missionary activities in Indian Territory, cowboys and the range cattle industry, Oklahoma's petroleum industry, and the history of railroads and transportation in the West.
OU Libraries Online Catalog
Search for Osage
-Limit to Full Text Online
-Resource Type select: Archival Materials / Manuscripts
Western History Collections Photographic Archives
The Photographic Archives contain approximately 2 million images representing a wide variety of photographic processes and subjects, and contains both glass plate negatives and original prints. Be sure to follow the steps to search for specific photos!
Indians for Indians Hour
Audio tapes of the popular radio program Indians for Indians Hour, hosted by Don Whistler on OU's radio station WNAD from 1942 to the early 1970s.
American Indian and Alaskan Native Documents in the Congressional Serial Set: 1817-1899
This collection offers detailed contemporaneous documentation of political, military, and governmental activities related to indigenous peoples of the continental United States and Alaskan territory during the 19th century.
Public Services Librarian
, Communication, Languages, Arts, and Social Sciences
, General Reference
, Health Sciences
, Healthcare Administration
, Political Science
, Science, Technology, Engineering, & Mathematics