LibGuides: SOWK 4613: Social Work- Research Methods in Social Work: Find Articles

Numa Search

Articles, books, and other materials in one comprehensive search!

Google Scholar

Finding Articles

Journal Locator
Want to know if the Library has electronic access to your favorite journal title? Look for it using the TITLE or ISSN search or browse for e-journals by subject.
Indexes & Databases
Searching for journal articles or other information? Try looking in one of the Library's many indexes and databases.

Ebsco Database Tutorials

Videos from Ebsco provide a thorough introduction to searching such individual databases as CINAHL and PsycINFO that are useful for social work research.

Ebsco Database Tutorials

Core Databases

CINAHL Complete
Use this database to locate journal articles and books on all aspects of nursing and allied health. CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Although the emphasis is on nursing, many of the references also relate to allied health disciplines such as cardiopulmonary technology, health education, medical, and laboratory technology, occupational therapy, emergency service, and social services in health care.
ProQuest Central
A cross-disciplinary research tool with 30 databases that can be searched together or individually.
PsycINFO
Contains the full text of articles from APA journals and selected EPF (Educational Publishing Foundation) journals, most from 1988 to the present. Indexes and abstracts older journal articles with comprehensive coverage from the 1880s onward.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.
SocINDEX with Full Text
This database contains full text for "core" journals dating back to 1895, in addition to "priority" coverage journals. Also included is full text for books, monographs, and conference papers. Subject coverage includes abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, etc.