Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
More Tools for your Research
If you have a citation, find a journal article online here.
If you need to request an article through interlibrary loan, this is where you'll go to download it.
Peer-reviewed journal articles have gone through a special review process (peer review, naturally). This means scholars of a discipline have read an article carefully and determined that it makes a worthwhile contribution and was researched correctly. This is why instructors prefer you to use peer-reviewed articles -- it guarantees that your sources are good ones.
These databases are your best bets for finding secondary research on Victorian literature and culture.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Use this database to locate citations for items from journals and series published worldwide. It indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceeding, dissertations, and bibliographies. It is produced by the Modern Language Association of America. Subject coverage includes folklore, languages, linguistics, and literature.
Updated throughout the year, One Literature is a vast library of literary criticism.
Use this database to locate full-text articles from scholarly journals. Important: JSTOR is an initiative to store the full-text of important journals in a secure environment. Issues for the current 3-5 years are not available. Subjects cover all aspects of the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Academic Search Complete
Use this multi-disciplinary database to locate full text articles appearing in scholarly journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles.
A cross-disciplinary research tool with 30 databases that can be searched together or individually.