Victorian Periodicals - ENGL 4243 - Victorian Literature - LibGuides at University of Arkansas

Indexes to Victorian Periodicals

Science in the 19th Century Periodical (SciPer Index)
Search the science content of several British nineteenth-century general periodicals. Articles published 1800-1900.
At the Circulating Library: A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837-1901
Biographic and bibliographic database of nineteenth-century British fiction. Includes serialization information from over 150 periodicals.
The Periodical Poetry Index: A Research Database of Poetry in Nineteenth-Century Periodicals
Database of citations to English-language poems published in nineteenth-century periodicals.
Quarterly Review Index
Index of the Quarterly Review, 1809-1824.
Attributions of Authorship in the Gentleman's Magazine
An electronic version of James M. Kuist's The Nichols File of the Gentleman's Magazine plus two supplements.

Many Victorian periodicals are also available in the HathiTrust Digital Library, Google Books, and the Internet Archive.

Dickens Journals Online
Includes All the Year Round (1859-1870), Household Words (1850-1859), Household Narrative of Current Events (1850-1855), and Household Words Almanac (1856-1857).
NCSE: Nineteenth Century Serials Edition
Includes Monthly Repository (1806-1837), Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833), Northern Star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English Woman's Journal (1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870), and Publisher's Circular (1880-1890).
Internet Library of Early Journals
Includes Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine (1843-1863), Notes and Queries (1849-1869), and The Builder (1843-1852).
British Medical Journal
Archive of the British Medical Journal from 1840-2012.

The Nineteenth Century in Print - Periodicals
Twenty-three digitized 19th century American periodicals.