Arkansas Resources

The online digital archive of the Arkansas State Archives includes digitized documents, visuals, maps, broadsides, pamphlets, and three-dimensional objects significant to Arkansas history and culture, from the holdings of the Arkansas State Archives.

The Arkansas State Archives organizes and maintaines the history of Arkansas by collecting and preserving state, county, and federal records, manuscript materials, newspapers, military records, family histories, an extensive Arkansas history and genealogy library, and a collection of Arkansas art and artifacts.

The Butler Center for Arkansas Studies was created for the purpose of promoting a greater understanding and appreciation of Arkansas history, literature, art, and culture. The research collections have more than 10 million documents and photographs on Arkansas history available for public use.

This Portal is designed to help visitors to the University of Arkansas's Libraries locate digital projects developed by University of Arkansas campuses. Projects can be viewed by subject or by the campus which completed the project.

"The mission of the Encyclopedia of Arkansas Project" (as stated on its Web site) "is to collect and disseminate information on all aspects of the state's history and culture and to provide a comprehensive reference work for historians, teachers, students and individuals for the purpose of promoting the study, understanding, and appreciation of Arkansas's heritage." The Encyclopedia is maintained and updated by staff from the Butler Center for Arkansas Studies.

The Special Collections was created in 1967 to encourage research and writing in the history and culture of Arkansas and the surrounding region. Since then, our collections have grown to include architectural records, the personal papers of artists and musicians, historical records documenting the creation of the Fulbright program and international exchanges, as well as the University Archives, rare book collections, and much more.