Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
More Tools for your Research
If you have a citation, find a journal article online here.
If you need to request an article through interlibrary loan, this is where you'll go to download it.
Peer-reviewed journal articles have gone through a special review process (peer review, naturally). This means scholars of a discipline have read an article carefully and determined that it makes a worthwhile contribution and was researched correctly. This is why instructors prefer you to use peer-reviewed articles -- it guarantees that your sources are good ones.
These are the go-to databases for research in the area of communication and media studies.
Communication Source offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, phonetics and speech pathology, organizational communication and other closely related fields of study.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a database containing citations to articles and other sources in all areas of knowledge. (The database doesn't include full text, but links to full text if we have access.) Try Firefox first for this database -- it's not working correctly in Chrome right now. This link to the beta version loads faster in Chrome.
General and Multidisciplinary Databases
When your instructor asks you to use peer-reviewed articles, a database is where you'll find them. There are databases for any subject you can think of, and they'll usually let you limit your search (for example only to peer-reviewed articles, or to articles from the past five years).
The databases on this list are multidisciplinary -- they focus on research from all areas of knowledge. We also have subject-specific databases if you know exactly which field your topic falls into (for example if you're writing about sociology or nursing).
Academic Search Complete
Use this multi-disciplinary database to locate full text articles appearing in scholarly journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles.
Use this database to locate full-text articles from scholarly journals. Important: JSTOR is an initiative to store the full-text of important journals in a secure environment. Issues for the current 3-5 years are not available. Subjects cover all aspects of the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection
Use this database to locate the full-text of journals in the Standard Package of Project Muse. Subjects include humanities, arts, and social sciences.
A cross-disciplinary research tool with 30 databases that can be searched together or individually.