Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Article?
Peer-reviewed journal articles have gone through a special review process (peer review, naturally). This means scholars of a discipline have read an article carefully and determined that it makes a worthwhile contribution and was researched correctly. This is why instructors prefer you to use peer-reviewed articles -- it guarantees that your sources are good ones.
To find an article, search the Journal Locator for the journal title. Here's an example of where in the citation you'll find the title.
If we don't have access, you can request the article through interlibrary loan.
Want to know if the Library has electronic access to your favorite journal title? Look for it using the TITLE or ISSN search or browse for e-journals by subject.
Articles, books, and other materials in one comprehensive search!
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This database provides more than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays and 5,000+ topic overviews. Included are primary source documents, biographies, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and a link to Google Image Search. Also included are thousands of podcasts and NPR programs. A national and state curriculum standards search is available, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.
CQ Researcher contains in-depth factual reports on controversial issues and topics of current interest. Browse by topic or search for keywords across multiple reports.
Academic Search Complete
Use this multi-disciplinary database to locate full text articles appearing in scholarly journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles.
A cross-disciplinary research tool with 30 databases that can be searched together or individually.
NewsBank: America's News
NewsBank has thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications. Explore current and archived news articles and obituaries to pinpoint information from primary sources at the local, state, regional, national and international levels.
Other Useful Databases
America: History & Life with Full Text
Use this database to locate journal articles and parts of books dealing with U.S. and Canadian history, area studies and current affairs literature. Subject coverage includes history, interdisciplinary studies of historical interest, and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities.
SocINDEX with Full Text
This database contains full text for "core" journals dating back to 1895, in addition to "priority" coverage journals. Also included is full text for books, monographs, and conference papers. Subject coverage includes abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, etc.