Costume Design and Stage Makeup
Use the tabs at the top of this guide to find articles from databases, search for books, identify useful web sites, and to cite resources. Contact a Reference Librarian for additional help with research.
The word THEATRE may also be spelled THEATER. Use both spellings of the word when searching. Also consider using a search feature called truncation. The first part of the search term is used followed by an asterisk. For example: theat* retrieves theatre, theater, theatrical, and other variant forms of the word.
"Dorothy's Ruby Slippers, 1938"
Slippers worn by Judy Garland who portrayed Dorothy in the "Wizard of Oz."
Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic License
Power search tools enable multisearches of databases and online catalogs in one major search. They are time savers, as they retrieve a lot of information quickly. However, the results from these searches often must be narrowed with care to make results manageable.
Articles, books, and other materials in one comprehensive search!
Search for books available from other libraries in WorldCat and request them through Interlibrary Loan.
Reference Books provide background information or overviews of a topic, definitions of unfamiliar terms, biographical information, and sources for further exploration (bibliographies). The Boreham Library Online Catalog indexes a number of print reference titles, which are shelved on the 1st floor.
General Reference Books for Theatre: Costume Design and Makeup
Complete Costume Dictionary Costume & Fashion Greenwood Encyclopedia
Ref 391.003 L58cc Ref 391.00962 C8205ch Ref 391.009 G856cc
Historical Encyclopedia Illustrated History of Fashion Oxford Companion
Ref 391.003 R115hi 741.672 M219ih Ref 792.03 Ox24ctp
20th Century Fashion
Additional Reference Titles for Theatre: Costume Design and Makeup
Book of Costume (Kemper) Ref 391 K323c
Complete History of Fashion and Costume (Cosgrave) Ref 391.00962 C8205 ch
Costume Reference (Sichel) Ref 391.00941 Si12c
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion Ref 391.003 En194cf
Evolution of Fashion 391.009 H554
Handbook of Stage Costume Ref 792.026 B4733 hs
History of Costume (Kohler) Ref 391.094 K824
In an Influential Fashion :Encyclopedia of Nineteenth and Twentieth Century 391.00922 In11if
Period Style for the Theater 792.02 R 912p
Schirmer Books Theatre Manuals 792.02 Sch34ma
Explore background information from DISCOVER, Proquest Central, CREDO, or recommended reference titles.
Find more information in online catalogs and databases.
Find information from web resources.
Evaluate and select references.
Cite your sources.