LibGuides: Physics: Find Sources

Best Bet Databases

NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
Covers 1969-. The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints. All records provide basic bibliographic information; many records are linked to open access full text.

Web of Science
Web of Science is a database containing citations to articles and other sources in all areas of knowledge. (The database doesn't include full text, but links to full text if we have access.)
SciFinder Scholar (NEW USER - Click Here)
SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows the exploration of the Chemical Abstract Services databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.

You must register using your UA Fort Smith Lionslink email account.
You must register from a computer on the UA Fort Smith campus.
UA Fort Smith shares a pool of logins with two other universities, so please log off immediately when finished searching to free up access for other patrons.
MathSciNet
Use this database to locate comprehensive coverage of the world's mathematical literature since 1940. MathSciNet provides access to the bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database.

Other Helpful Databases

Academic Search Complete

Use this multi-disciplinary database to locate full text articles appearing in scholarly journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles.
ProQuest Central
A cross-disciplinary research tool with 30 databases that can be searched together or individually.
STEM Database
Composed of more than 500 full-text scholarly journals and popular science magazines covering research and instruction in earth, life, physical, medical and applied sciences; and technology, engineering, and math.

Physics Journals

Search for Physics journals using this library database:

Journal Locator

Journal titles NOT indexed in databases at UAFS, but are important titles in the field:

Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science
- The Scope of the Journal reflects the broad vision of the Academy to promote science within Arkansas and disseminate the science being carried out by scientists in Arkansas throughout the US and the world.
Proceedings of the National Academic of Sciences
- The Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS), a peer reviewed journal of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), is an authoritative source of high-impact, original research that broadly spans the biological, physical, and social sciences. Not all, but most articles are open access.

Web Resources & Professional Organizations

Physics Websites - UW Bothell and Cascadia College
Find recommended resources for beginning your research in Physics, including databases, electronic journals, and websites.
MERLOT Materials: Physics
MERLOT is a community of staff, volunteers, and members who work together in various ways to provide users of OER (Open Educational Resource) teaching and learning materials with a wealth of services and functions that can enhance their instructional experience.

Background Information

Background sources are found in books and online sources. They provide general information about your topic such as an overview, definitions, key terms or persons, and suggestions for more sources. Sources are often books such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, although they may be websites, articles, and similar tools. A database with some good background sources is CREDO Reference.

CREDO is listed in the Database list.

Examples of Background reference sources in CREDO:

eBook Print Book eBook