LibGuides: Agriculture: A Multidisciplinary Field: Find Sources

Best Bet Databases

AGRICOLA
This bibliographic database, produced by the National Agricultural Library, consists of worldwide literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
This collection will help students, faculty and researchers identify and analyze environmental problems both natural and human-made, evaluate the relative risks associated with these problems, and help to examine alternative solutions for resolving and/or preventing them
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.

This database is funded by Arkansas State Library's Traveler. This project is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act. Additional state funds are provided by the Arkansas Department of Education.

Other Helpful Databases

Academic Search Complete

Use this multi-disciplinary database to locate full text articles appearing in scholarly journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles.
Biological Science Database
Wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
ProQuest Central
A cross-disciplinary research tool with 30 databases that can be searched together or individually.
SciFinder Scholar (NEW USER - Click Here)
SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows the exploration of the Chemical Abstract Services databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.

You must register using your UA Fort Smith Lionslink email account.
You must register from a computer on the UA Fort Smith campus.
UA Fort Smith shares a pool of logins with two other universities, so please log off immediately when finished searching to free up access for other patrons.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a database containing citations to articles and other sources in all areas of knowledge. (The database doesn't include full text, but links to full text if we have access.)

Agriculture Journals

Agriculture - Coverage: May 2011 - Present
Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment - Coverage: 1995 - Present
Agriculture Dive - Coverage: Jan 2024 - Jan 2025

Search for Journals using this library database:

Journal Locator

Journal titles NOT indexed in databases at UAFS, but are important titles in the field:

Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science
- The Scope of the Journal reflects the broad vision of the Academy to promote science within Arkansas and disseminate the science being carried out by scientists in Arkansas throughout the US and the world.
Proceedings of the National Academic of Sciences
- The Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS), a peer reviewed journal of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), is an authoritative source of high-impact, original research that broadly spans the biological, physical, and social sciences. Not all, but most articles are open access.

Web Resources & Professional Organizations

USDA's National Agriculture Statistics Service
The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.
USDA's Plants Database
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the United States and its territories
AGRIS search engine
Since 1974, the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) has provided support to its member countries to make their research outputs visible and accessible through the International System for Agricultural Science and Technology (AGRIS); one of the most comprehensive search engines in food and agricultural scientific literature providing free access to millions of bibliographic records in 123 different languages.
AgEcon Search
Covers: 1995-. A searchable full-text database of research in agricultural economics. Areas include agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development, presentations, working papers, journal articles, government documents, and theses and dissertations.

Background Information

Background sources are found in books and online sources. They provide general information about your topic such as an overview, definitions, key terms or persons, and suggestions for more sources. Sources are often books such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, although they may be websites, articles, and similar tools. A database with some good background sources is CREDO Reference.

CREDO is listed in the Database list.

Examples of background reference sources in Boreham:

eBook eBook eBook eBook