LibGuides: Computer Science: Find Sources

Best Bet Databases

ACM Digital Library
Use this database to find bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) periodicals and proceedings, together with selected works published by affiliated organizations.
Computer Science Database
Full-text research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a database containing citations to articles and other sources in all areas of knowledge. (The database doesn't include full text, but links to full text if we have access.)

Other Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete

Use this multi-disciplinary database to locate full text articles appearing in scholarly journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles.
Academic Videos Online (AVON)
A multidisciplinary collection of more than 60,000 videos. Topics covered include Architecture, Art, Business, Counseling and Therapy, Dance, Economics, Education, Ethnic Studies, Ethnography, Health, History, Humanities, Law and Public Safety, LGBT Studies, Literature, Opera, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Science, Theatre, and Women’s Studies. Video types include newsreels, field recordings, demonstrations of specific techniques, archival footage, interviews, and documentaries.
Credo Reference
Use this database to search the online version of hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects, including general and specialized dictionaries, handbooks and encyclopedias. Credo Reference helps you find authoritative answers fast.
ProQuest Central
A cross-disciplinary research tool with 30 databases that can be searched together or individually.

Computer Science Journals

ACM Transactions on Graphics - Coverage: 1982 - present
Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery - Coverage: 1997 - present (1 year embargo/delay)
IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking - Coverage: 1993 - prsent
Information Sciences - Coverage: 1995 - present
International Journal of Computer Vision - Coverage: 1997 - present (1 year embargo/delay)
The Journal of Machine Learning Research - Coverage: 2001 - present
Software and Systems Modeling - Coverage: 2002 - present

Search for other journals using this library database:

Journal Locator

Web Resources & Professional Organizations

arXiv
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 2,110,790 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economic.
CiteSeerX
This is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
This is a collection of bibliographies of scientific literature in computer science from various sources, covering most aspects of computer science.
Computer Language
Encyclopedia of technology related words and phrases.
Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI)
Offers free, publicly-available, Department of Energy (DOE) sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data information.
W3Schools
Tutorials for learning web development.
National Science Digital Library
The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines.

Background Information

Background sources are found in books and online sources. They provide general information about your topic such as an overview, definitions, key terms or persons, and suggestions for more sources. Sources are often books such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, although they may be websites, articles, and similar tools. A database with some good background sources is CREDO Reference.

CREDO is listed in the Database list.

Examples of background reference sources in Boreham:

eBook eBook eBook eBook eBook