LibGuides: Chemistry: Find Sources

Best Bet Databases

American Chemical Society
The American Chemical Society is the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences, serving scientific communities worldwide through an unparalleled commitment to quality, reliability, and innovation.
SciFinder Scholar (NEW USER - Click Here)
SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows the exploration of the Chemical Abstract Services databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.

You must register using your UA Fort Smith Lionslink email account.
You must register from a computer on the UA Fort Smith campus.
UA Fort Smith shares a pool of logins with two other universities, so please log off immediately when finished searching to free up access for other patrons.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a database containing citations to articles and other sources in all areas of knowledge. (The database doesn't include full text, but links to full text if we have access.)

Other Helpful Databases

Academic Search Complete
Use this multi-disciplinary database to locate full text articles appearing in scholarly journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles.
ProQuest Central
A cross-disciplinary research tool with 30 databases that can be searched together or individually.
STEM Database
Composed of more than 500 full-text scholarly journals and popular science magazines covering research and instruction in earth, life, physical, medical and applied sciences; and technology, engineering, and math.

Chemistry Journals

Journal titles can be found using either of these databases:

Journal titles NOT indexed in databases at UAFS, but are important titles in the field:

Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science
- The Scope of the Journal reflects the broad vision of the Academy to promote science within Arkansas and disseminate the science being carried out by scientists in Arkansas throughout the US and the world.
Proceedings of the National Academic of Sciences
- The Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS), a peer reviewed journal of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), is an authoritative source of high-impact, original research that broadly spans the biological, physical, and social sciences. Not all, but most articles are open access.
Scientific Reports Journal
- An open access journal publishing original research from across all areas of the natural sciences, psychology, medicine and engineering.

Web Resources & Professional Organizations

ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access from hundreds of data sources.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
National Institute of Standards & Technology thermochemical, spectra, ion energetics, and chromatography data for thousands of compounds. Search by formula, name, CAS registry number name, and more.
The Chymistry of Isaac Newton
The Chymistry of Isaac Newton project aims to produce a scholarly online edition of Newton's alchemical manuscripts integrated with new research on Newton's chymistry.
Myers Chemistry Handouts
The handouts have been extensively updated to introduce new topics and provide the latest, best summaries of the chemistry literature. These handouts were created as part of an advanced course on the synthesis of complex molecules.
CAS Common Chemistry
CAS Common Chemistry is an open community resource for information on chemical substances from CAS REGISTRY.
OPSIN: Open Parser for Systematic IUPAC nomenclature
OPSIN is a freely available software that interprets systematic IUPAC nomenclature for chemistry and biochemistry and converts it into chemical structures reported as SMILES, InChI and CML (Chemical Markup Language).

Background Information

Background sources are found in books and online sources. They provide general information about your topic such as an overview, definitions, key terms or persons, and suggestions for more sources. Sources are often books such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, although they may be websites, articles, and similar tools. A database with some good background sources is CREDO Reference.

CREDO is listed in the Database list.

Examples of Background reference sources in CREDO:

eBook eBook eBook