LibGuides: Biology: Find Sources

Best Bet Databases

Web of Science
Web of Science is a database containing citations to articles and other sources in all areas of knowledge. (The database doesn't include full text, but links to full text if we have access.)
SciFinder Scholar (NEW USER - Click Here)
SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows the exploration of the Chemical Abstract Services databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.

You must register using your UA Fort Smith Lionslink email account.
You must register from a computer on the UA Fort Smith campus.
UA Fort Smith shares a pool of logins with two other universities, so please log off immediately when finished searching to free up access for other patrons.
STEM Database
Composed of more than 500 full-text scholarly journals and popular science magazines covering research and instruction in earth, life, physical, medical and applied sciences; and technology, engineering, and math.

Other Helpful Databases

Academic Search Complete
Use this multi-disciplinary database to locate full text articles appearing in scholarly journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles.
AGRICOLA
This bibliographic database, produced by the National Agricultural Library, consists of worldwide literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
This collection will help students, faculty and researchers identify and analyze environmental problems both natural and human-made, evaluate the relative risks associated with these problems, and help to examine alternative solutions for resolving and/or preventing them
Biological Science Database
Wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
ProQuest Central
A cross-disciplinary research tool with 30 databases that can be searched together or individually.

Biology Journals

Biology - Coverage: 2012 - Present
Biology Digest (USA) - Coverage: 1987 - Present
Biology Direct - Coverage: 2009 - Present

Search for Journals using this library database:

Journal Locator

Journal titles NOT indexed in databases at UAFS, but are important titles in the field:

Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science
- The Scope of the Journal reflects the broad vision of the Academy to promote science within Arkansas and disseminate the science being carried out by scientists in Arkansas throughout the US and the world.
Proceedings of the National Academic of Sciences
- The Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS), a peer reviewed journal of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), is an authoritative source of high-impact, original research that broadly spans the biological, physical, and social sciences. Not all, but most articles are open access.

Web Resources & Professional Organizations

ADW: Animal Diversity Web
Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan

International Plant Name Index
IPNI provides nomenclatural data (spelling, author, types and first place/date of publication) for the scientific names of vascular plants from family to infraspecific ranks.

IUCN: International Union for Conservation of Nature’s Red List of Threatened Species
Established in 1964, the International Union for Conservation of Nature’s Red List of Threatened Species has evolved to become the world’s most comprehensive information source on the global extinction risk status of animal, fungus and plant species.
Public Library of Science
PLOS is a non-profit organization on a mission to drive open science forward with measurable, meaningful change in research publishing, policy and practice.
Tree of Life Web Project
The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny).
National Science Digital Library
The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines.

Background Information

Background sources are found in books and online sources. They provide general information about your topic such as an overview, definitions, key terms or persons, and suggestions for more sources. Sources are often books such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, although they may be websites, articles, and similar tools. A database with some good background sources is CREDO Reference.

CREDO is listed in the Database list.

Examples of background reference sources in Boreham:

Ebook Ebook Ebook