LibGuides: Open Access: Open Access Repositories

Repository Indexes

Open Access Repositories are free, digital collections of research. The repositories are managed by libraries, organizations, non-profits, and government agencies. A repository my be focused on a specific subject, research from a specific institution, or be interdisciplinary. This page lists several large interdisciplinary repositories and indexes to discover subject based repositories.

Digital Commons Network
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
Internet Archive Scholar
Internet Archive Scholar is a fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.
OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories.
OSF Preprints
OSF Preprints hosts a number disciplinary repositories. Repositories in OSF Preprints are not indexed in OpenDoar.
Registry of Open Access Repositories Mandatory Archiving Policies (ROARMAP)
The Registry of Open Access Repositories Mandatory Archiving Policies (ROARMAP) is a searchable international registry charting the growth of open access mandates adopted by universities, research institutions and research funders that require their researchers to provide open access to their peer-reviewed research article output by depositing it in an open access repository.
Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data)
Re3data is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.