LibGuides: Social Work Values & Ethics: SOWK 3853: Background Information

Print Books

Blackwell Handbook of Social Psychology
Call Number: 305 B5684hsp
An authoritative overview of the social psychology of group processes. Includes communication, organizations and mental health.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5
Call Number: 616.89075 D54
Major resource for classification and diagnosis of mental disorders.
Encyclopedia of Group Processes and Intergroup Relations
Call Number: 302.303 En195
This encyclopedia covers concepts ranging from conformity to diversity and from small group interaction to intergroup relations on a global scale.
The Encyclopedia of Social Work
Call Number: 361,303En197sw
All aspects of social work from practice and interventions to social environments, social conditions and challenges.
The Oxford Handbook of Social Work in Health and Aging
Call Number: 362.10425 Ox26sw
Theories, innovations, and major developments in social policies.
Social Workers' Desk Reference
Call Number: 361.32 So1344w
A comprehensive guide to social work practice.

Credo Reference
Use this database to search the online version of hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects, including general and specialized dictionaries, handbooks and encyclopedias. Credo Reference helps you find authoritative answers fast.

CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher contains in-depth factual reports on controversial issues and topics of current interest. Browse by topic or search for keywords across multiple reports.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This database provides more than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays and 5,000+ topic overviews. Included are primary source documents, biographies, court-case overviews, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images and a link to Google Image Search. Also included are thousands of podcasts and NPR programs. A national and state curriculum standards search is available, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.

The Blackwell Companion to Social Work
Call Number: Ebook: Click link for access.
An authoritative introduction with sections on theory and practice, stages in the human life cycle, and the objectives and core components of social work.
Dictionary of Social Work
Call Number: Ebook: Click link for access.
Wide range of key concepts and terms used in social work, social care, law and health services.
Encyclopedia of Aging by Richard Schulz
Reference covering the range of disciplines in aging.
The Social Workers' Toolbox
Accessible resource for social work assessments, interventions and social work management.
Social Work Fields of Practice
Call Number: Ebook: Click link for access.
A comprehensive overview of contemporary social work practice, discussing historical trends, demographics, professional issues, ethics, and diversity.