MHCA 5603 - Population Health: Health Statistics

The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation’s principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data.

The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics.

Track data on births, deaths, fetal deaths, linked birth/infant death, life expectancy, and marriages and divorce.

State-level data from NCHS

Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.

Includes regularly updated data for HP2020 objectives, including data details, data sources, and methods. Additionally, the website includes a searchable online database, interactive tools for tabulating and graphing data, including state-level data tabulation and mapping capability, and a tool to assess health disparities.

The Division of Population Health is charged with managing programs that provide cross-cutting, chronic disease and health promotion expertise.

CDC Wide-ranging ONline Data for Epidemiologic Research (CDC WONDER) is a public resource. This application makes many health-related data sets available to CDC staff, public health departments, researchers, and others. The data help with public health research, decision making, priority setting, program evaluation, and resource allocation.

The data.HRSA.gov website (previously known as the HRSA Data Warehouse) provides maps, data, reports, and dashboards to the public about HRSA’s health care programs. The data integrates with external sources, such as the U.S. Census Bureau, providing information about HRSA’s grants, loan and scholarship programs, health centers, and other public health programs and services.

This site provides direct access to the official data from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) that includes the following data-sets: Hospitals; Nursing Homes; Physicians; Home Health; Dialysis Facility; Hospice; Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility; Long-Term Care Hospital; and a Supplier Directory.

HCUPnet is a free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). The system provides health care statistics and information for hospital inpatient, emergency department, and ambulatory settings, as well as population-based health care data on counties.

To protect Americans from serious disease, the National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System (NNDSS) helps public health monitor, control, and prevent about 120 diseases. NNDSS is a multifaceted program that includes the surveillance system for collection, analysis, and sharing of health data. It also includes policies, laws, electronic messaging standards, people, partners, information systems, processes, and resources at the local, state, territorial, and national levels.

QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

The ERS State Fact Sheets provide information on population, income, poverty, food security, education, employment/unemployment, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, top commodities, and agricultural exports. Links to available county-level data are included.

Use this search interface to find Vital Statistics on low birthweight, fertility, cause of death, cause of infant death, and hospital discharges in Arkansas by County, year - even illness.

The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) survey tracks how personal health behaviors play an important role in the existence of unnecessary deaths and illnesses. The survey allows individual states to collect data on personal behaviors (such as smoking, drinking, not getting exercise, being overweight, and not getting preventive medical care) that are linked to the leading causes of death (heart disease, cancer, stroke, diabetes, injury) and other important health issues.

The Arkansas Prevention Needs Assessment Survey is a yearly survey of 6th, 8th, 10th and 12th grade school students in the state of Arkansas. The survey is designed to assess adolescent substance use and related behaviors, and risk and protective factors that predict these behaviors.

Arkansas Community Foundation is a nonprofit organization that promotes smart giving to improve communities. These reports present county-by-county data on measures of community well-being, including education, health, economics, employment, housing, and civic engagement.

KFF (Kaiser Family Foundation) is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues. KFF serves as a non-partisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public.  KFF provides sophisticated policy research, to basic facts and numbers, to in-depth health policy news coverage, to information young people can use to improve their health or the general public can use to understand health insurance.

PHACS is a summary of indicators that can affect the health of Arkansans. Community groups, students, and researchers can use PHACS to find county health data from several different sources.

This page provides vaccination coverage by county among Arkansas children and the percentage of adults aged 65 and older reporting no flu or pneumonia shot.

Select from a wide range of data on health disparities, health workforce, demographics, and more. Explore how metropolitan and nonmetro counties compare, nationwide and by state.

RHIhub's topic and state guides bring together key resources and information in one spot. Start here for access to: publications, maps and websites.

The CHR&R program provides data, evidence, guidance, and examples to build awareness of the multiple factors that influence health and support community leaders working to improve health and increase health equity.

the National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO) Toolbox, a free, online collection of public health tools that have been created and shared by members of the public health community.

America's Health Rankings provide a wide variety of health and health-related information to provide a holistic view of the states and nation. Each report provides a comprehensive look at the health of the population across the nation and on a state-by-state basis using a wealth of reputable data sources.

The Public Health Foundation (PHF) improves public health and population health practice to support healthier communities.

KIDS COUNT is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families. Each year, the Foundation produces a comprehensive report — the KIDS COUNT Data Book — that assesses child well-being in the United States

The mission of The Commonwealth Fund is to promote a high-performing health care system that achieves better access, improved quality, and greater efficiency, particularly for society’s most vulnerable, including low-income people, the uninsured, and people of color. The Fund carries out this mandate by supporting independent research on health care issues and making grants to improve health care practice and policy.

The mission of the Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative’s Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health (DRC) is to expedite and support effective use of data from the National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) to improve child, youth, family and community health and well-being in the US.