Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Organize your search. Use AND, OR, or NOT to group search terms for the online catalog and databases.
Types of Searches (Keyword, title, subject, etc.)
Keyword is like Google—it finds your search term anywhere. Exact Search finds words in order. Subject, Title, Author, etc. searches are more powerful because they search only in those parts of the database.
Subject Headings Use Subject Searches (either Exact or Browse) to find database-specific terms that demonstrate what the work is ABOUT.
Truncation Use the asterisk (*) to search using root words. For “teen*” you get “teens”; “teen”; “teenager”, etc.
Use this database to search the online version of hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects, including general and specialized dictionaries, handbooks and encyclopedias. Credo Reference helps you find authoritative answers fast.
Search the Boreham Library catalog
Find books and e-books with NUMA Search.
Books @ Boreham
America's Healthcare Transformation by
Publication Date: 2016-06-28
A revolution in American medicine is in full swing, with the race from fee-for-service to fee-for-value at the front line in an epic battle that will transform healthcare delivery for decades to come. In America's Healthcare Transformation, eminent physician leader Robert A. Phillips brings together key thought leaders and trail-blazing practitioners, who provide a wide-ranging exploration of the strategies, innovations, and paradigm shifts that are driving this healthcare transformation. The contributors offer a panoramic look at the dramatic changes happening in the field of medicine, changes that put the patient at the heart of the process. Among other subjects, the essays evaluate innovative high quality and low cost care delivery solutions from around the United States and abroad, describe fundamental approaches to measuring the safety of care and the impact that guidelines have on improving quality of care and outcomes, and make a strong case that insurance reform will fundamentally and irreversibly drive delivery reform. In addition, America's Healthcare Transformation reviews the role of health information technology in creating safer healthcare, provides a primer on the development of a culture of safety, and highlights ground-breaking new ways to train providers in patient safety and quality. Finally, the book looks at reports from Stanford Health Care and Houston Methodist which outline how successful behaviorally based strategies, anchored in values, can energize and empower employees to deliver a superior patient experience. Drawing on the wisdom and vision of today's leading healthcare innovators, America's Healthcare Transformation provides a roadmap to the future of American healthcare. This book is essential reading for all health care providers, health care administrators, and health policy professionals, and it will be an invaluable resource in the effort to improve the practice of medicine and the delivery of healthcare in our communities and nation.
Building a National Culture of Health by
Publication Date: 2016-04-11
In 2013, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) embarked on a pioneering effort to advance a Culture of Health initiative. A Culture of Health places well-being at the center of every aspect of life, with the goal of enabling everyone in our diverse society to lead healthier lives. To implement this vision, RWJF worked with RAND to develop an action framework that identifies how the nation will work toward achieving these outcomes.
Population Health in America by
Publication Date: 2019-07-09
In this engaging and accessibly written book, Population Health in America weaves demographic data with social theory and research to help students understand health patterns and trends in the U.S. population. While life expectancy was estimated to be just 37 years in the United States in 1870, today it is more than twice as long, at over 78 years. Yet today, life expectancy in the U.S. lags behind almost all other wealthy countries. Within the U.S., there are substantial social inequalities in health and mortality: women live longer but less healthier lives than men; African Americans and Native Americans live far shorter lives than Asian Americans and White Americans; and socioeconomic inequalities in health have been widening over the past 20 years. What accounts for these population health patterns and trends? Inviting students to delve into population health trends and disparities, demographers Robert Hummer and Erin Hamilton provide an easily understandable historical and contemporary portrait of U.S. population health. Perfect for courses such as population health, medical or health sociology, social epidemiology, health disparities, demography, and others, as well as for academic researchers and lay persons interested in better understanding the overall health of the country, Population Health in America also challenges students, academics, and the public to understand current health policy priorities and to ask whether considerably different directions are needed.
Research and Evaluation in Community, Health and Social Care Settings by
Publication Date: 2019-09-11
How can we develop a comprehensive understanding of the research process in community, health and social care settings? Covering all stages of the research process, from funding to dissemination, this book considers the views of funders, researchers, communities and policy makers. Drawing on practical examples and relevant international literature, it sheds light on issues that can arise in the process and presents solutions and strategies to deal with a range of challenges. Organised around a series of themes that capture the essential elements of the research process including covering framing research in theory, commissioning and designing research, utilisation of findings and knowledge transfer, this book provides practical guidance for those involved in child welfare and education, nursing and clinical practices, community studies and the social sciences. It will be a key resource for all those who are interested in developing their understanding of the research and evaluation process in these areas.
Self-Reported Population Health: an International Perspective Based on EQ-5D by
Publication Date: 2013-12-05
The EQ-5D instrument, as a standardized, cross-culturally validated measure of self-assessed health has a hugely important role in understanding population health within and across countries. Over the past two decades a wealth of international population health survey data have been accumulated by the EuroQol Group from research conducted in many countries across four continents. One of the success factors of the EQ-5D instruments has been the easy availability of national or international sets of EQ-5D data, as well as clear explanations and guidance for users. There is an unmet need to produce a comprehensive book that captures up-to-date and expanded information of EQ-5D self-reported health and index values. EQ-5D population norms and cross-country analyses are provided from representative national surveys of 20 countries and additional regional surveys. This book will be a must for those who believe that how people report and value health is very important.